Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 October 2006, 15:03   #1
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Raymarine Radar

Ok, got the boat , now i want to buy it a present!
I though a radar for the C80 on board.
Any advice or help in what i might need?(or cost (Gulp!))
__________________

__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2006, 15:24   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
The current Raymarine scanners should all work with the C80.

List price for 2Kw RD218 is 934 inc VAT. (This is actually 1/2 RRP for the equivalent Garmin unit - guess they don't make/sell as many) Range is 24Nm Product details
You might see some deals offering a cable at extra cost, but it should come with the unit!

You'll also need some sort of mounting which will depend on your a-frame setup. Take a look at ScanStrut products. Not cheap but they make them to fit the Raymarine units. Could be 175-225 depending on what you need.
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2006, 15:28   #3
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Thanks Mike
__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2006, 16:07   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
Any advice or help in what i might need?
Raymarine have recently released two new scanners. I've no experience of these new ones but the spec for the 4kw unit doesn't have as narrow a beam as the previous version. A narrow beam is generally a good thing. I guess it must do something else better.

Speaking about the previous units, the 4kw gives a much cleaner, finer, more detailed image than the 2kw. Things which the 2kw would only find for a portion of the time become solid with no problem.

You can sit it on the top of your A frame provided it's tall enough. It's not a good idea to scan your brain with 4kwatts of microwave energy. You may need a wedge to set the mounting angle correctly.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2006, 18:11   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quite right about the scanner - it's more important than the head unit. Having said that on a RIB you wouldn't want one too big - any radar is better than no radar!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2006, 18:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
Ok, got the boat , now i want to buy it a present!
I though a radar for the C80 on board.
Any advice or help in what i might need?(or cost (Gulp!))
Have you got the DSM300 fishfinder for it - they are great!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2006, 01:23   #7
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
no >:O(
the boat has no fishfinder
perhaps one from father xmas would be a good idea!
__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2006, 06:47   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Would be cheaper than Radar anyway!!!

Remember the transducer is as important to a fishfinder as the scanner is to radar. The one I really fancied costs 1500!!! It was also rather large so in the end I went for a transom mount. Wish I had gone for a through hull or even an in hull one instead.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2006, 07:02   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Cod, just silicon it to the inside of your hull. It'll be fine.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2006, 07:12   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Cod, just silicon it to the inside of your hull. It'll be fine.
Good idea - suppose I will lose some detail and range then though? At the moment it works fine until you get over about 10kts - would it be much better in hull?
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.