Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 April 2012, 11:24   #1
Member
 
craig_c's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 478
RIBase
Raymarine E120 wont fire up?

Tried the chart plotter today for the first time after the winter and it appears to still be in winter hibernation!

It makes a slight click sound but nothing displays on the screen. I took all the cables out incase there was a burst wire but still nothing.

I'm getting 12v at The plotter end so it's not power related.

I'm afraid it's something internal so I tried a factory reset but it's not responding to anything.

Anybody encountered this problem before and who's the best people to repair it?
__________________

__________________
Redbay Boats
craig_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 15:30   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_c View Post
Tried the chart plotter today for the first time after the winter and it appears to still be in winter hibernation!

It makes a slight click sound but nothing displays on the screen. I took all the cables out incase there was a burst wire but still nothing.

I'm getting 12v at The plotter end so it's not power related.

I'm afraid it's something internal so I tried a factory reset but it's not responding to anything.

Anybody encountered this problem before and who's the best people to repair it?
Check the actual socket on the back of the unit for corrosion. The early "E" series units were very voltage sensitive, try sticking a charger on the batteries & switching the unit on whilst the charger is connected.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 16:33   #3
Member
 
craig_c's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 478
RIBase
Checked it with the multimeter and I'm getting 14v at the plotter end with the engine running.

It'll be a 2005/06 plotter.

Will take it out this week and send it to somebody. Can't find anything at all outside so it must be the unit itself.

Damn!
__________________
Redbay Boats
craig_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 16:43   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_c View Post
Checked it with the multimeter and I'm getting 14v at the plotter end with the engine running.

It'll be a 2005/06 plotter.

Will take it out this week and send it to somebody. Can't find anything at all outside so it must be the unit itself.

Damn!
Raymarine have fixed price repairs just hope it comes under a "low cost" repair & not the standard
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 17:02   #5
Member
 
craig_c's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 478
RIBase


jeez, you can get another one second hand for that main repair price!!!

Will email them and describe the symptoms but if they come back and say its a big repair i think ill be looking for other options!!!
__________________
Redbay Boats
craig_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 17:10   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_c View Post


jeez, you can get another one second hand for that main repair price!!!

Will email them and describe the symptoms but if they come back and say its a big repair i think ill be looking for other options!!!
But you might end up buying more trouble. I think the main repair consists of replacing your unit with a factory refurb. I have been told that Raymarine are sympathetic if you speak to them. Worth a try.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2012, 17:29   #7
Member
 
craig_c's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 478
RIBase
Yea youre right dave

Ive emailed them basically asking if its a common fault and how to rectify it.

hopefully they turn round and say its something really common and its classed as a small repair

Wont be happy if they say its a big repair. Ive been doing a lot of free demos for that plotter since we got it!!
__________________
Redbay Boats
craig_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2012, 19:02   #8
Member
 
craig_c's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Boat name: Crusader
Make: Redbay 8.4 Exped
Length: 8m +
Engine: yamaha sterndrive
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 478
RIBase
Got a reply from raymarine. They say it's got to go back and from the sounds of it, will be a big repair.

I don't like the ludicrous repair pricing. How difficult is it to work out parts and labour costs.

Hope they can sort it out on the cheap rate. Praying it's a loose connection inside the unit!!!
__________________
Redbay Boats
craig_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 2012, 05:22   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Have you tried the service centre?They do fixed price repairs if you go through ebay. They have repaired my Navman and a simrad radio and were quite reasonable
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 2012, 09:25   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: Not sure
Make: ABC/Priddy
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x 500 FPT
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 926
Mention my name and say that the unit is going on the boat I am using in the summer. Once you have a order/repair number let me have it and I will see what I can do.
Cheers

Alan P
__________________

__________________
Alan Priddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.