Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 October 2011, 10:27   #1
Member
 
passbhoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Send a message via Skype™ to passbhoy
Raymarine E120 review

Hi Folks,
I was wondering does anyone have any experience of the Raymarine E120 as we are considering one for the refit of our Rib. looking forward to hearing your views
__________________

__________________
passbhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 11:08   #2
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
I have not used one in a while, so I cannot comment. Other than to say that at about 300 quid less the Garmin 12" touchscreen chartplotter is considered by some to be better value for money.

http://channelribs.com/shop/product_...roducts_id/102
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 11:09   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by passbhoy View Post
Hi Folks,
I was wondering does anyone have any experience of the Raymarine E120 as we are considering one for the refit of our Rib. looking forward to hearing your views
I assume you mean the widescreen & not the classic which is now discontinued. I have E80's (classics)which are identical in operation & features to the E120. I have mixed feelings about them. They do what they do very well, but I don't find them very user friendly. I'd go down the Lowrance route now, just for the structure scan.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 03:50   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
We have E140 widescreens on the race boat and they have been faultless for us, paired with the Navionics charts the level of detail is amazing - they will even do 3D which you can tilt and pan. Tide charts and currents are built in as is a Google map overlay. We have also connected it all up to the Yanmar engines with the NMEA 2000 and get all of the engine data up on the screens. We also have the AIS 650 which puts all commercial shipping and any private vessels fitted with it up on the screen with lots of information on it - happy to answer any questions you have.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 04:50   #5
Member
 
Ribochet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Rostrevor
Boat name: Ricochet
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin F115 Yams
MMSI: 235083269
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 911
Do you have the free space to surface mount such a large plotter on your console or will it be bracket mounted? The reason I ask is that in my experience a 12in plotter mounted on a bracket is 100% in the smooth stuff but once it starts to get bouncy then they get harder to read due to vibration. I have had a bracket mounted Lowrance HDS-10 which has good old fashion buttons for a year now and think itís the cats pyjamas
__________________
Maximum Preparation - Maximum Fun
Ribochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 08:33   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Forgot to mention - if it's likely to get wet they have a "hybrid" touch screen that you can turn off and use buttons instead, much more user friendly when going fast.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 08:43   #7
Member
 
passbhoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Send a message via Skype™ to passbhoy
yea we are getting a new console so it will be custom fitted
__________________
passbhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 08:44   #8
Member
 
passbhoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 77
Send a message via Skype™ to passbhoy
excellent, sounds good, thanks for the info
__________________
passbhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2011, 11:10   #9
Member
 
Ribochet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Rostrevor
Boat name: Ricochet
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin F115 Yams
MMSI: 235083269
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by passbhoy View Post
yea we are getting a new console so it will be custom fitted
The perks of working for a Goverment Agency
__________________

__________________
Maximum Preparation - Maximum Fun
Ribochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.