Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 May 2005, 12:05   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
Raymarine C120 - Icom M601

Any one had a problem getting these 2 to talk to each other.

I am pretty sure that my electronics wiz has soldered the plug from the M601 properly, but they are not talking to each other.

The C120 is sending out its NMEA Data, but it seems that the M601 is not listening. Do I have to tell the M601 to listen, as I couldn't find this option in the menus.

The only thing I can see from the manuals that is a problem is the M601 says its has sentance formaters RMC,GGA,GNS,GLL, but the C120 does not have a GNS. Is this important?

It seems to me that there is money to be made if someone knows how to wire a GPS to a DSC. It obviously aint easy judging by the amount of questions on this forum.
__________________

__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2005, 14:20   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingercoastie
It seems to me that there is money to be made if someone knows how to wire a GPS to a DSC. It obviously aint easy judging by the amount of questions on this forum.
It's dead easy if you've got a Garmin and a Silva. Just connect the fkin wires.







Just windin' you up, Ginge.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2005, 16:08   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Alex

As long as you have it wired correctly the chances are it is the GPS at fault.
To date everytime we get a call re a problem it is down to the GPS and not the radio.

The radio is just waiting for the right info,
If the GPS is not sending the right info it will not work.

Sorry but on this one you may need to call Raymarine.
I have not played with the C120 so can't be any further help me thinks.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2005, 17:57   #4
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Alex, have you played around with different connections?

You won't break anything - these are just data connections, not power connections, so there's no risk of blowing anything up.

I connected our Icom 601 to our Raymarine 425 using the phono lead (I just happened to have a corresponding connecting lead already made up) instead of soldering the 6-pin plug. I initially conected it with the GPS NMEA out to the radio NMEA in (logical, yes?)... and it didn't work. However, when I connected the GPS NMEA out to the radio NMEA out, it worked I can only assume that somone made a naming convention that means "connect this to NMEA out", instead of "this is the NMEA out". What's in a name!

Phonos are now well wrapped in self amalgamating tape.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	radio_gaga.JPG
Views:	186
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	11949  
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2005, 04:12   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
The M601 should come with a made up break out lead, terminated in phono's.
We had these made up about 12 months ago.
Thay are in the box with the units now.

They have to multi plug at one end then at the other there is 2 phono's and 1 3.5mm jack socket.
Red phono NMEA in
White phono NMEA out
Jack ext spk.

We had these made up due to the lack of slodering skills in the marine world!!

Alex if you need one let me know.
I will ship you one FOC

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2005, 04:19   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
Jon,


Just been up to the attic to get mine. Just need to solder the the lead from the gps now
__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2005, 04:37   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
OK. I am probably been thick now , but there are 2 NMEA out and 2 NMEA in connections on the multi pin plug, but only one for each on the phone lead.

How do I mach the 2 wires together so that they go to the one plug?
__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2005, 10:30   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard B
I connected our Icom 601 to our Raymarine 425 using the phono lead (I just happened to have a corresponding connecting lead already made up) instead of soldering the 6-pin plug. I initially conected it with the GPS NMEA out to the radio NMEA in (logical, yes?)... and it didn't work. However, when I connected the GPS NMEA out to the radio NMEA out, it worked I can only assume that somone made a naming convention that means "connect this to NMEA out", instead of "this is the NMEA out". What's in a name!

Phonos are now well wrapped in self amalgamating tape.
I have purchased a soldering iron and solder, so I am now planning on venturing into unknown territory.

The wire coming from the C120 has 2 NMEA out and in wires. The phono lead only has one for NMEA in and out. How do I match these together, or can't I?
__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2005, 10:40   #9
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Each phono is two connections - the core and the shield being positive and negative... or is it negative and positive... I don't know which way round they are - there's probably a standard for this!

If you 'phone Icom you can usually get through to knowlegdeable technical staff straight away... 01227 741741

Otherwise Superradioman will no doubt don his cape and post here...
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2005, 11:57   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Binfield
Boat name: merlinless now
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 447
Here is something that may help, give you an idea,whatever. I found that the naming convention seemed strange and that for someone from telcoms

Just some helpful info if you are fitting the ICOM DSC M421 to a GSP/ chart plotter

Im sure this may seem straight forward, but it took me a couple of hrs reading the books

1) Firstly depending on the GSP check that the data speed rate is set at 4800, and the NMEA is 0183 v2.0 3.02. If there are no settings and its fairly new then this should be the output anyway, as example my Raymarine 420 is about 3 years old and has no facility to change.
2) The connections are (switch power off before starting)

a) NMEA data out (Yellow in my case) of the GSP or plotter goes to the NMEA + of the radio, the inner core (White). Do not use the NMEA + from the GPS or plotter
b) The Data out common (brown wire in my case) of the GSP or Plotter Goes to the outer copper cable (seems like the shield). Do not use the NMEA from the GPS or plotter. There is only one core so again you cannot go wrong.

I twisted the wires together until i got it correct
__________________

__________________
Jimbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.