Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 March 2005, 14:40   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Raymarine 435i failed again...

Am i realy unlucky, or is this normal?

My Raymarine 435i has failed for the 4th time.
- it's failed every other time we have taken the boat out on the water.
1. Backlight failed - fixed
2. total failure - replacement unit
3. power cable failure - replacement cable
4. total failure last weekend - this time the fuse also blew

My impression was that Raymarine was the Icom of the chartplotter world
- is this something other people have experienced?

After each trip we wash the while boat down with fresh water before stripping the electronics to try and preserve them - should we be doing anything else to help the longevity of the equipment?

Raymarine has been very good at fixing/replacing the unit, but i expect to use the same unit every trip, not use a new replacement!

Steve
- the radio is still working - thanks Jon
__________________

__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2005, 14:52   #2
Trade member
 
Andre's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Sussex
Boat name: Grey Mist
Make: Parker 800 Baltic
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2xMercury Diesel 170
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,451
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Andre
Quote:
Originally Posted by divelandy
Am i realy unlucky, or is this normal?

My Raymarine 435i has failed for the 4th time.
- it's failed every other time we have taken the boat out on the water.
1. Backlight failed - fixed
2. total failure - replacement unit
3. power cable failure - replacement cable
4. total failure last weekend - this time the fuse also blew

My impression was that Raymarine was the Icom of the chartplotter world
- is this something other people have experienced?

After each trip we wash the while boat down with fresh water before stripping the electronics to try and preserve them - should we be doing anything else to help the longevity of the equipment?

Raymarine has been very good at fixing/replacing the unit, but i expect to use the same unit every trip, not use a new replacement!

Steve
- the radio is still working - thanks Jon
Regretfully I would say you are very unlucky. I have had the Ray 435i since last April and no problems as yet.
Andre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2005, 16:49   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: St Davids
Boat name: 6 vessels -various
Make: Quinquari/Humber
Length: 10m +
Engine: Twin ETEC200s
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 130
[QUOTE=divelandy] Am i realy unlucky, or is this normal?

My Raymarine 435i has failed for the 4th time.


We fit many RAYM units every week and a lot of them.

Apart from some misting and one SL72 unit giving failure we have had no probs reported from customers.

Suggest you talk to the lads at RAYM and ask for a new set as it sounds that you are unlucky.

Cheers

John
www.quinquari.co.uk
__________________
quinquarimarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2005, 16:59   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Hi Divelandy, are you down at Falmouth at the mo. As someone brought a faulty 435i into the shop today. If it is you how did you get on with the tests?


Cheers
Mark
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2005, 16:59   #5
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
The older Raymarine 425 still going strong for us!
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2005, 17:28   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Thanks for all the positive replies - lets hope you're right

Marknj: I came back on Monday - but it was probably John or Mark with our unit.
I'll contact them to see how they got on.

Cheers,
Steve
__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2005, 14:55   #7
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Republic of Cork
Boat name: Vortex
Make: Excalibur
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 200 VMAX
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
No problems yet...touch wood!

I have a 435i flush mounted on the console of my Excalibur and it's been out in the Irish winter without a problem. Even the odd power wash doesn't seem to bother it. The sunlight viewable screen is the business too!

Mark
__________________

__________________
vortex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.