Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 April 2009, 06:30   #1
nik
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: east cowes
Make: academic
Length: no boat
Engine: fresh air
MMSI: N/A
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 540
Raymarine

I have never really bothered to look at raymarine electronics in the past. But I was wondering what people thought of their kit in general.
Good? bad? expensive?

Thanks, Nick.
__________________

__________________
nik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 April 2009, 07:56   #2
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Being an ex-employee I'm bound to be a bit biased, but I believe it to be good gear, but a little expensive. However you get what you pay for.

Raymarine can be a little slow at catching up with the latest trends and developments, but you can bet when they do release something it is normally reliable and well developed.

It also depends on what you do with your boat, and how rough it will get treated.
There are other, cheaper, brands out there that will be more than OK for what 90% of us do with our boats, but if I was going to cross the atlantic I'd go for Raymarine.

Raymarine are also feeling the pinch at the moment in the current financial climate, so there are some very good deals around at the moment on their gear if you search.
The cheapest prices I know of are usually at raydirect.co.uk but I must stress I have no connection with the company.

Nasher.
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2009, 17:25   #3
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
C 120 plotter was an excellent piece of gear I am a real fan of that ..only .. when I went to add the fish finder extention to it oh.. and then when I had to replace the screen due to some scratches but as Nasher says you get what you pay for, and I really miss it in the current rig
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2009, 17:41   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
I have just goine from Lowrance to Raymarine.

The Lowrance kit is much more integrated, but doesn't have the features. It is good value for money.

If money is no object, Ray all the way. But adds ons are very expensive. And how do you easily add fuel data??

Conclusion: The jury is out.
__________________
Tony
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2009, 17:45   #5
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by JABS View Post
And how do you easily add fuel data??
Buy Mercury and get their guages with the engines
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2009, 17:56   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
My whole idea is an integrated system.

Lowrance did it. Ray doesn't.

seperate gauges is not what I wanted. Why have so many different displays??
__________________
Tony
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2009, 18:03   #7
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by JABS View Post
My whole idea is an integrated system.

Lowrance did it. Ray doesn't.

seperate gauges is not what I wanted. Why have so many different displays??
Dont think engine manufacturers do NMEA 'type standard' as such, but IIRC Cookee posted something about some that did something integrated and I think its a mercury type/associated product

*edit*

heres the thread

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...ruments&page=2
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 April 2009, 06:54   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Raven
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 suzuki
MMSI: 235040525
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by JABS View Post
My whole idea is an integrated system.

Lowrance did it. Ray doesn't.

seperate gauges is not what I wanted. Why have so many different displays??
I'm in the process of puttin g a C80 on mine. in answer to your last point, if your integrated system goes pear shaped in the blue yonder,and it's all you've got....I'm keeping the standard suzuki gauges as a back up. My project is really to get a bigger screen,in addition,I'm a bit gadgety so want to see if I can get the engine info displayed.
__________________
.
IBWET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 April 2009, 13:29   #9
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
I thought going for a C120 in mine was a bit over the top, but now I couldn't do without it, as with the screen split down the middle showing both GPS map and Fishfinder both are big enough that you can read them at speed.

Nasher.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	c120 nr.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	41995  
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2009, 04:12   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
I thought going for a C120 in mine was a bit over the top, but now I couldn't do without it, as with the screen split down the middle showing both GPS map and Fishfinder both are big enough that you can read them at speed.

Nasher.
I bow to your financial muscle in affording the fish finder... ...
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.