Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 March 2004, 04:50   #1
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Town: Stockholm
Boat name: Sea Dachshound
Make: ..shopping for a RIB
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 90 4-stroke
MMSI: 265585460
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 88
Radar/Plotter Overlay with 6-9m RIB

Dear all,

Anyone using a radar/plotter overlay with a 6-9m RIB?
Is it working out for you?
I have only seen one of the two systems I am aware of, Raymarine and Furuno on larger vessels.
Anyone heard if Garmin are coming out with something new along these lines?
Ah well,
These units are still rather pricey but interesting nevertheless...but what I would like to know is if it is likely that these units are fast enough to cope with all the micromovements of the hull and coarse deviations on a 6-9m RIB.
Are the readings likely to make sense if the installation is optimized with a fluxgate and all, or will it just stutter about, trying to figure out where it's going?
Some people I have spoken to indicate that the Radar/Plotter Overlay is unlikely to work on smaller vessels. Apparently this feature requires a fairly steady coarse to make sense. I have only seen these systems over the shoulder of someone else at the helm an asked only basic questions...but it looks the biz...if price drops a bit more I am all over it ;-)...
I am sure Scandinavian darkness and fog is on par with that of the British Isles so others on this excellent board should be interested too as price drops....,-)
Any knowledge to be obtained?

curious as ever
Janne A.

P.S. broken Furuno link fixed, sorry 'bout that..
__________________

__________________
houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 07:18   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
Janne
I have the Raymarine setup and I know three other boats with it ranging from 6.5 to 9.5m.

The systems work fine with no worries about "micro-movements".
Only slight problem is that small boats (ie other RIBs) are dificult to see easily on the RADAR, especially in rough seas.

But apart from that, the RADAR is invaluable in fog, rain and at night. Try to make sure that if you do get such a system, it is equiped with MARPA or ARPA (vessel taget tracking software). In busy sea lanes, in poor weather or at night, this takes a lot of the stress out of collision avoidance.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 07:45   #3
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Town: Stockholm
Boat name: Sea Dachshound
Make: ..shopping for a RIB
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 90 4-stroke
MMSI: 265585460
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 88
Overlay usage

Hello Brian,

Thanx for reply.
What system exactly if you have a sec?
Do you often use the overlay of radar on chartplotter? If so, when, typically?

best
Janne A.
__________________
houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 10:48   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
I (and most of my pals) have the RL80C.

The RADAR is not used very often, only in sea-fog or other bad weather or to pick up a RACON or look for each other if separated.

I find it's actually not how often it is used, but the value in when it is used. For the relatively small addiditive cost of the radome, I think it is well worth it. Some people I know have even retro-fitted the RADAR after using just the plotter.

Raytheon is possibly more expensive than other brands, but you get what you pay for. As the man says "Nobody is ever disappointed wiith quality".
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:02   #5
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Town: Stockholm
Boat name: Sea Dachshound
Make: ..shopping for a RIB
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 90 4-stroke
MMSI: 265585460
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 88
the overlay one more time...

Ok,

So the radar/chart overlay feature does not get used much, if at all?
I thought it would be a killer feature...

best
Janne A.
__________________
houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:10   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
I wonder if I am mis-reading your question?....probably.

When you say "overlay" do you mean superimposition? The Raytheon system does not do that. I am told it makes the screen far too "busy" to make sense of.
The Raytheon allows:
-either chart or RADAR
-chart plus RADAR split screen
-when in RADAR mode or split screen mode, your course or heading and bearing to target are superimposed on your screen. Thus you continue to navigate succesfully whilst keeping RADAR and/or MARPA watch.
You can download the Adobe PDF of the RL80C manual from Raytheons website if you want more info. on what exactly it does.

My apologies if I mis-read your question-it is very foggy here today!
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:18   #7
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Town: Stockholm
Boat name: Sea Dachshound
Make: ..shopping for a RIB
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 90 4-stroke
MMSI: 265585460
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 88
My fault I am sure,

Foggy question warrants foggy answer I guess...and how very appropriate for the topic of this thread.. ,-)

Yes, it is specifically the use of overlaying radardata on a chartplotter that I am curious about..
and that is what I am told requires more from the unit and installation to make sense on a smaller vessel, as the micro side-movements of a small hull will make it hard for the system to display it.
If this is your unit, then it should do it anyway...

regards
Janne A.
__________________
houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:35   #8
Member
 
Country: Finland
Town: Tampere
Make: Atlantic 21, Avon SR4.0
Length: 6,9 m
Engine: Mercury F60 EFI x2
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 117
I have used 10,4" Furuno NavNet plotter in 6m boat and it worked fine. I have also tested same system on 6,5" screen and it didn't work out as well, the screen was just a bit too small. Invest to Furuno 10,4" screen if you have resources, that's the best system you can buy to small boat. New Raymarine 120C is too light structurally, I don't like it, the mechanical quality is not enough for heavy-duty RIB use although the software is good. For Furuno RIB is not a problem, they are 100% reliable and built like tank.

Brian, for a small vessel ARPA is not recommended dual major unreliabilities. Also, in ranges 3 miles and below the use of MARPA and ARPA is generally not recommended even in commercial shipping. Pleasureboat ARPAs are nice toys, but one should never trust on them during night or low visibility. They contain so many possibilities to failure that especially for small RIB automated collision avoidance should be phohibited. Instead, navigation should be based on reading the screen in an ordinary way.
__________________
Pitkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:54   #9
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Town: Stockholm
Boat name: Sea Dachshound
Make: ..shopping for a RIB
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 90 4-stroke
MMSI: 265585460
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 88
Furuno eh..

Hi Pitkis,

Furuno is what the old naval guys at the yard is advising me to get also...
I have only seen the new Raymarine C-stuff on the net and it looks really nice...but I hear you...

Very interesting to hear that you liked the Furuno in a small boat.
May I ask if you have any comments specific to the radar/chart overlay feature of the FurunoNavnet system?
Did you try that, and if you did, did it simply work for you with no glitches?
What is in your view a typical scenario when this is a useful feature?

I don't know about other parts of the world but here in Sweden Maritime law pretty much requires that you have your radar switched on if you have one.
If you are in a collision and it is established that your radar was not used you are in trouble.
Not so in your neck of the woods?

FWIW

best
Janne A.
__________________
houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2004, 11:56   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
Houser
That is the RL80 C Plus model. I dont have the plus and my system does not do superimposition. I guess we need a Raytheon person to tell us exactly what elements of the Raytheon family are required to give you the result you need ie do you need a fluxgate compass, what other hsb2 device do you need, the literature is not at all clear is it.

Pitkis
I bow to your superior knowledge and expertise. ARPA/MARPA may be a toy but it is better than not having a toy and ABSOLUTELY agree it must not be relied on ass some sort of automatic, failsafe system. I use it to complement and add-to to good watchkeeping etc.

Both
Any comments about the "business" of an overlay screen. I have not seen it but would imagine that the amount of detail would be either confusing or unclear.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.