Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 January 2010, 17:12   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Powering up chartplotter at home,battery high message..

Powering up a Raymarine A65 Chartplotter at home with maplin power unit http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=231.

When power on chartplotter met with Alarm and on screen message saying battery high and counts down in secs and powers off.
Any ideas??
__________________

__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2010, 18:35   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
The power supply either has a bad ripple that is tripping the alarm or the load the plotter is presenting is not loading the supply enough to bring it down a 12v battery equivalent i.e. under 15 volts.

Either way, take it back and ask them to exchange it.

I use a similar maplin one on the bench when I am repairing stuff and have no problems with that.

I reckon if you put a meter on it that it will come up with a higher that 13.2v value.
__________________

__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 04:25   #3
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffs View Post
The power supply either has a bad ripple that is tripping the alarm or the load the plotter is presenting is not loading the supply enough to bring it down a 12v battery equivalent i.e. under 15 volts.

Either way, take it back and ask them to exchange it.

I use a similar maplin one on the bench when I am repairing stuff and have no problems with that.

I reckon if you put a meter on it that it will come up with a higher that 13.2v value.
ok will exchange power supply
__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 10:52   #4
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
any other ideas?
__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 10:55   #5
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
maybe i need to connect something else to the power supply as well as chartplotter to put load on it?
__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 13:38   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
have you put a multimeter on it?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 15:43   #7
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
have you put a multimeter on it?
no don't have one.

thought it would be just a straight forward connect it up and work away.
__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 18:19   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciaranp View Post
no don't have one.

thought it would be just a straight forward connect it up and work away.
I think its a fairly essential item for debugging any boat electrics (even when "at home") and you can pick one up for less than a tenner. I doubt anyone can help you more than Geoff has without actually having some real information.

The plotter is reporting an error of too high a voltage. This can only be one of two things: (i) the voltage IS too high (ii) the voltage is fine but the plotter has an error. If the voltage is wrong - the product is not doing what it says "on the box" - so if its new get it replaced. You could try adding a load - but its masking the problem not fixing it, and without a multimeter you'll have no idea what voltage you're putting through both the load and the plotter so risking damaging them.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2010, 05:21   #9
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
I think its a fairly essential item for debugging any boat electrics (even when "at home") and you can pick one up for less than a tenner. I doubt anyone can help you more than Geoff has without actually having some real information.

The plotter is reporting an error of too high a voltage. This can only be one of two things: (i) the voltage IS too high (ii) the voltage is fine but the plotter has an error. If the voltage is wrong - the product is not doing what it says "on the box" - so if its new get it replaced. You could try adding a load - but its masking the problem not fixing it, and without a multimeter you'll have no idea what voltage you're putting through both the load and the plotter so risking damaging them.
if i put a multimeter on it what should the voltage be 13.8 or 12v?
__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2010, 05:54   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciaranp View Post
if i put a multimeter on it what should the voltage be 13.8 or 12v?
A 13.8 V regulated supply should be putting out 13.8 V. Allowing a reasonable error for both the multimeter and the power supply that could maybe show as high as 14 V.

12.0 V would essentially be a flat battery
12.7 V would be a full charged battery.
13.8 V is probably what your electrics sit at when the engine is running with a fully charged battery (keeping them 'topped up')
14.4 V is when batteries start to get a bit unhappy.

So electrics designed for a 12 V system actually need to be able to cope with something like the 12-14.4 V range of input power, and most will do wider than that, e.g. The spec for the A65 says is requires a supply voltage of: 10.7 - 18.0 V d.c.

I can't see any reason why a supposedly regulated 13.8 V power supply should be delivering > 18V unless it is faulty / badly made. Your plotter will be drawing something like 0.5 Amps - which seems like the sort of load (neither low nor high) a device clearly intended for running car type electrics should be able to support.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.