Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 August 2011, 13:18   #11
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Without wanting to start a riot - as the OP was originally considering just a handheld - I'd vote for KISS and stick something on the console handrail. Buy enough cable for a longer run and just coil it in the console. You won't notice the antenna in your field of view after a few minutes as you focus ahead. If you decide to go night cruising in the 4 meter Zodiac you can think about poles and lights and stuff later, no extra costs or time now.
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2011, 15:25   #12
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Right, i'm there, all being well.

Going for the Icom, Pro rail mount, pro 1m aerial and flush fit kit.

Will place it on the seat to start with (spare bit of rail), but of course this gives me the option of moving it to the console if its in the way as neither of these require any drilling.

I'm not sure if i can get the pole actually attached to the seat base as the backrest to the seat extends further back than the base. see pic.

If it still annoys me then i can look into the transom option at a later date.

Phew. Now for just the painful bit of paying and fitting.

I can well recommend Channel Ribs. He has been great for advice and price (hopefully) ha ha.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boat 010.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	66.9 KB
ID:	61435   Click image for larger version

Name:	boat 012.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	61436  
__________________

__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2011, 15:34   #13
Member
 
kerny's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Ashton-under-Lyne Lancs
Boat name: IMOGEN
Make: Air-Craft 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 60
MMSI: 235087492
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,040
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to kerny
Quote:
Originally Posted by actions View Post
Right, i'm there, all being well.

Going for the Icom, Pro rail mount, pro 1m aerial and flush fit kit.

Will place it on the seat to start with, but of course this gives me the option of moving it to the console if its in the way as neither of these require any drilling.

If it still annoys me then i can look into the transom option at a later date.

Phew. Now for just the painful bit of paying and fitting.

I can well recommend Channel Ribs. He has been great for advice and price (hopefully) ha ha.
seconded
__________________
kerny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2011, 09:51   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
The corner of your transom where the steering cable curves round is screaming "insert pole here" to me.

One thing if you mount it on the console, try to make the tip either well above or below eye level........ My A- frame only just clears the engine when tilted, and I have to be super careful I don't take my eye out with the Raider when I'm back there.....)

Other thing - if you have it that close to your head- only use 25W power when absolutely necessary!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2011, 12:00   #15
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
The corner of your transom where the steering cable curves round is screaming "insert pole here" to me.

Other thing - if you have it that close to your head- only use 25W power when absolutely necessary!
Good spot. Once it all arrives from the channel islands i will pop up to our local metral fabrication unit and see what they can muster up for me. They made a jockey console back rest for me for the old boat so a straight piece of metal with some brackets shouldnt be an issue or an expense. Especially now you've mentioned the old 25w next to my head issue.
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2011, 15:22   #16
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Woohoo, what a day

Well, parcel arrived from Channel Ribs today and i set about installing the VHF and transom pole so here is how i got on.

Started off with the template on the console, marked it all out and set about cutting the hole. All going well until i tried to slide the radio in and the wheel was in the way. So after quite some time scratching my head on how to get the bloody wheel off, i decided on gentle encouragement and bingo.

Connected everything up and linked it to the GPS, but no position coming up, more head scratching, a bit of searching on here and realised i needed to earth the negative wire on the vhf nmea wire too, bingo. Then tried pushing the aerial through the cable tidy, bit more head scratching when it got stuck, anyway you get the picture. But all is in and i now have a position on the vhf and can receive transmissions. Phew.

Also managed to squeeze the transom pole into the nats arse sized gap i had too.
Thanks one and all for the help and advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	London, bday roy and dave, boat 055.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	61929   Click image for larger version

Name:	London, bday roy and dave, boat 056.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	61930   Click image for larger version

Name:	London, bday roy and dave, boat 057.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	61931  
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2011, 19:06   #17
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Like the transom pole. What's the make?

I need to move my own antenna (Metz) as it's unreliable in its current position (mounted on console handrail). Was at Peterhead last weekend and heard zero chatter on ch16 even with the squelch adjusted. Could be the antenna is too close to the receiver?
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2011, 02:37   #18
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
Like the transom pole. What's the make?
We made that up I am afraid to say. Heavy walled aluminum, stainless is available too. 1m long and fixed with three screws whos heads fit through to the aft of the tube to allow easy passage of the coax.

The mount on top is a standard rail mount, but as you can see allows enough tilt to straighten the rake of the transom and get the antenna vertical. The 1m is usually enough to get the antenna above the engine.

Having the antenna too close to the VHF set is unlikely to cause problems, certainly not to reduce receive performance and the Metz is a superb whip. I would check/change the coax first and play around with the antenna height.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2011, 04:47   #19
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel Ribs View Post
Having the antenna too close to the VHF set is unlikely to cause problems, certainly not to reduce receive performance and the Metz is a superb whip. I would check/change the coax first and play around with the antenna height.
Fitted the ICOM M411 this year. New coax, connectors soldered, etc. Did tests with hand-held ICOM radio when the boat was in the garage and still picked up a signal up to a mile away.

However since fitting, I'm receiving absolutely no chatter (on scan mode). We launch from Cruden Bay or Stonehaven, so at the least I should be getting fishing traffic.

How much would it be for a similar transom post in aluminium or stainless steel. Please PM me.
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2011, 04:59   #20
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
Like the transom pole. What's the make?
I can well recommend the pole and of course Channel Ribs who made it for me. It is very strong and sturdy with the three screws but i've yet to try it on the water. I turned it all on yesterday and was receiving lots of chatter. The beauty with the pacific areial is it unscrews after use and allows the boat to slide into the garage with about 2mm to spare. Saves on messing around with wires everyday.
__________________

__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.