Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 August 2014, 09:53   #1
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Poor VHF & pacific aerials splitter VHF

I am having real VHF problems, Ive changed the cable and aerial, but still no better.

I am now thinking it could be my pacific aerials splitter vhf and am/fm - anyone got any experience with these going faulty? Dont want to waste 50.

I have really poor receiving performance, my hand held picks up more than the fixed, and if i can pick anything up its normally broken.

I was going to try the cable into the VHF and remove the spitter but its not long enough, as the splitter has 3 ft tails.

I am not near the coast, so its a pain to test..
__________________

__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 10:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Stick hand held on low power and go to a simplex channel and test like that.

Grab a length of coax... A pound shop tv lead would do if it's long enough... And a couple plugs. Be fine for receiving... Of that works you know your problem. I would question why split at 50... A storage aerial would be cheaper no?
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 10:07   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,597
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveHall View Post
I am having real VHF problems, Ive changed the cable and aerial, but still no better.

I am now thinking it could be my pacific aerials splitter vhf and am/fm - anyone got any experience with these going faulty? Dont want to waste 50.

I have really poor receiving performance, my hand held picks up more than the fixed, and if i can pick anything up its normally broken.

I was going to try the cable into the VHF and remove the spitter but its not long enough, as the splitter has 3 ft tails.

I am not near the coast, so its a pain to test..
Can't you make up a flylead just to replace the splitter?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 10:09   #4
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Will make up a bypass lead and try.

Just don't want to spend 50 if it's not needed, as that's a long way to a new VHF if that's needed.


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 11:59   #5
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
you did use 50 ohm cable when you replaced it? TV & and CCTV cable is usually 75 ohm.

And 50 ohm connectors ?

S.


www.firstaidatsea.co.uk
www.SPRmarine.co.uk
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 12:01   #6
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Used the cable with the new antenna so assume it's all correct.


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 12:12   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Unless I'm mistaken, the resistance on the coax only make a big difference on tx not RX. It sounds like RX is the issue...
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 12:21   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Poor VHF & pacific aerials splitter VHF

Those splitters are awful things - I'm hugely against anything in the path of the single most important connection on any boat - the VHF to aeriel connection.

Best not to join vhf coax either if it can be avoided. I forget the figures but each connection adds a considerable loss.

Like someone said, fit a 2nd antenna and bin the splitter. I do realise you'll need an extension piece but it's better than a horrible splitter.

If the 2nd antenna you fit is also a VHF type then you gain a piece of redundancy.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 12:22   #9
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Yep, RX is the issue...

Someone stood in sight, prob 500M away is received broken on the fixed set but fine and clear on the hand held... I can then transmit without any issues with the fixed set and they hear me loud and clear.
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 August 2014, 12:24   #10
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
I do like the idea of extra antenna's

I will look at re-rigging with two and a 3rd at a later date for AIS..

Just need to work out how to fit them all on the frame..
__________________

__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.