Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 October 2004, 22:26   #1
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: London
Boat name: Big Fish
Make: Princecraft
Length: no boat
Engine: 115 outboard
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Polaris DSC To Garmin GPSMAP 176

Hope someone can help me,I am trying to wire my polaris dsc to my garmin 176 gps but don't understand how the wiring works.My garmin has two wires a white for data in and brown for data out and the polaris has a green for data in,how would you wire this up.What wires hook where.I am not that smart when it comes to wiring things like this anyways so if anybody can help me it will be great.I am planning to wiring this up sometime this week so if anyone knows please free to email me or post it.
__________________

__________________
Henry Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 October 2004, 05:27   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Must be brown to green then. Plus you need the connect the grounds together. (The radio may have a floating ground so you need to connect them to be sure to complete the circuit.)
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 October 2004, 21:39   #3
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: London
Boat name: Big Fish
Make: Princecraft
Length: no boat
Engine: 115 outboard
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Thanks Jw, but what about white data in from the gps where does that wire get hook up too.
__________________
Henry Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2004, 08:02   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
If you have no input to the gps, just tie it off.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2004, 12:59   #5
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: London
Boat name: Big Fish
Make: Princecraft
Length: no boat
Engine: 115 outboard
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Thanks alot Jw I will try it and see how it works.
----------------------------------------------
Henry Z
__________________
Henry Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2004, 14:11   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
As JW says, you need to connect the black negative/ground leads from both together. It's well worth doing a direct connection on this between the two units and not relying on the fact that they probably both share a common ground on the battery. I had trouble once with getting a reliable signal through and found the solution to be a dedicated ground/negative link between GPS and Autopilot.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2004, 23:11   #7
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: London
Boat name: Big Fish
Make: Princecraft
Length: no boat
Engine: 115 outboard
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Thanks Erin for your help too and I will make sure I do that.
__________________
Henry Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2004, 14:03   #8
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Some VHF's have a NMEA output so that the position of the station transmitting the emergancy can be shown on the GPS - you would wire up the white wire on the GPS to that one or just leave it as JW says if your VHF doesn't have an output.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 October 2004, 17:47   #9
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: London
Boat name: Big Fish
Make: Princecraft
Length: no boat
Engine: 115 outboard
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
wiring up

I am trying to wire up my horn for my boat.I wired in a fuse block and so it will be wire into that.I also want have a switch for the horn and I am not sure as to how to go about wiring it up.Is there anyone out there that has done this before and can anyone help with this.
__________________
Henry Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 October 2004, 19:20   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Take a cable from a fuse and connect it to one pole of a push for on switch. From the second pole of the switch, take a cable to the positive connector of the horn. From the other horn connector, take a return cable to the negative supply.

Horns consume a fair amount of current. Make sure your switch is of a satisfactory rating. You wouldn't want the contacts to stick together.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.