Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 April 2008, 17:05   #1
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Plugable vhf

Does anyone make a "fixed mount" vhf that has a base that the radio is plugged into? My depth/fish finder does this and it is so convienient for removing at the end of a trip.
__________________

__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2008, 04:42   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
Does anyone make a "fixed mount" vhf that has a base that the radio is plugged into? My depth/fish finder does this and it is so convienient for removing at the end of a trip.
Do you mean one that will fit into a slot on the console, or mounted in a cradle bracket? If the former, not aware of one. For the latter, I'd be want to be sure about the waterproofness of the back of the unit. While you could use a waterproof connector for power/GPS, the antenna connection won't be without a special fitting. A quick search did yield some that apparently do the job.
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2008, 11:10   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
I do not have room panel mount a radio so it will have to be bracket mounted.
and the w/proofing of connections problem is the reson for the question.
Thanks.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2008, 14:02   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Linda - I don't know of one that does exactly what I think you want (a cradle mounted unit you can take home with you). But with, for example, a standard horizon 1500 you can mount the entire radio INSIDE the console (locked away if necessary) and then use the remote mike to control all the features of the radio. This needs only about a 1" square space on your dash for the socket (and somewhere to hang the handset). The remote mike is then completely removable.

[edit: fjarvis had this set up on his boat - you can see it here (mounted on side of console)]
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2008, 14:55   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Linda - I don't know of one that does exactly what I think you want (a cradle mounted unit you can take home with you). But with, for example, a standard horizon 1500 you can mount the entire radio INSIDE the console (locked away if necessary) and then use the remote mike to control all the features of the radio. This needs only about a 1" square space on your dash for the socket (and somewhere to hang the handset). The remote mike is then completely removable.

[edit: fjarvis had this set up on his boat - you can see it here (mounted on side of console)]
Yes!!!!! thank you for the reminder on the SH 1500. That will solve my problem.
Thanks
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2008, 03:02   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
I have a Standard Horizon PS2000, in which the radio is a black-box hideaway job. Unfortunately, it's been discontinued in the US.

I was using a Matrix before, and to remove it and hide it away involvved the antenna cable and a two wire power cable. Never had any problems with water ingress with the connectors (kept the antenna connection greased, and the SH connector is rubber sealed.) When I connected the GPS to the VHF, I added another connector (non-waterproof; used a 4-pin computer power supply connector, as it was handy) and never had a problem with that either (though to be fair, it wasn't in use too long in that configuration.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2008, 11:00   #7
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
I have a Standard Horizon PS2000, in which the radio is a black-box hideaway job. Unfortunately, it's been discontinued in the US.

jky
Yes the black box units are the ps1000 and the ps2000. I have been searching for both and nobody has one. It would solve my problem so I will keep searching. Do you want to sell yours?
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2008, 14:44   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
I have a few customers that "hide" the main unit of the GX-1500 or GX-3000 away and just use the ram mic. Works very well

Cheers
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2008, 14:58   #9
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Brooks View Post
I have a few customers that "hide" the main unit of the GX-1500 or GX-3000 away and just use the ram mic. Works very well

Cheers
Thanks Jon.
Spoke to SH today and that is what they suggested. They confirmed that the ps 1000/2000 have been discontinued; I wonder why as they are a perfect solution for a single console boat. Maybe because the ps 1000 was not class D.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2008, 18:41   #10
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Have found the SH gx1550 local for $156.95, However, the RAM mic. costs $119.95 so that makes the set up quite expensive. However, I do not have much alternative. Gonna have to bite the bullet on this one.
__________________

__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.