Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 December 2009, 06:25   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
I'm no expert on this, however putting my problem solving hat on, could you temporarily set your plotter to display some random engine functions that are shown on one of the gauges - then when the gauge drops out, you'll have an indication as to whether it's the source or not. Plotter will continue to tell you temp / rpm / whatever if it's a gauge / connectivity problem, but will presumably drop out as well if it's the source

The fact your plotter doesn't seem to give up makes me think there may be a problem with the engine data transmissions. (i.e your GPS reciever is working OK, as is the network)

Can you get any of your LM's to show lat / long? that would also prove / disprove the "plotter - Suz" link.
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2009, 16:30   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
There is no data from the outboard on any of the gauges or plotters. It isn't simply the outboard as the LMF's drop off the network in bus management.
The network is fed from an end terminator as shown.
When the gauges and outboard drop out they come back on the network randomly and then work for a little while before dropping back out.
There are updates for all the guages on the Lowrance website. I installed the evinrude versions on my guages that used to be a bit flakey and they have been fine since.

You can dowload the updates onto your PC then unzip them onto an SD card. then you can install them via your lowrance LCX27 Head unit.

Would be worth ticking that off the list.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2009, 18:13   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
There are no updates available for LMF gauges that I can find..........
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2009, 04:40   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
There are no updates available for LMF gauges that I can find..........
Are your guages specifically for Suzuki or are the generic. ie when you turn them on do they come up with a Suzuki logo?

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2009, 11:40   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
My stuff, including gauges, is all Lowrance
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2009, 14:13   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
jambo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Girvan & Tayvallich
Boat name: Breawatch
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 F/stroke
MMSI: ex directory!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,789
RIBase
Hi Bruce, sorry to hear your having trouble. The guy Geoffs on here helped me last year with NMEA when I was thinking of doing it on mine. He maybe worth a PM.
Cheers for now hope you get it sorted.
Billy
__________________
jambo
'Carpe Diem'
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
Member of SABS ( Scottish West Division)
jambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2009, 14:38   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Its only a niggle but its annoying that I cannot find it or the fault make sense to have some idea where to look.
I have bought a ethernet cable to link both plotters and when I am installing that this week I'll strip it all down and check the whole network and power system. Its an intermittent fault so probably a bad connection somewhere that I'll come across.......
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2009, 07:05   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
Its only a niggle but its annoying that I cannot find it or the fault make sense to have some idea where to look.
I have bought a ethernet cable to link both plotters and when I am installing that this week I'll strip it all down and check the whole network and power system. Its an intermittent fault so probably a bad connection somewhere that I'll come across.......
Bruce I think you will need to go down a process of elimination with this start with just the engine, GPS aerial and one guage then once that is stable add in more T's and devices until the problem reoccurs. Then you may be able to nail it down to one particular T or device.

As for why you can have one device fail then another that is fine further down the network is quite possible when you look at how these networks operate.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2010, 16:28   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
Make a sketch of how you have it all connected,you should have a central backbone with a termination at each end and power fed in somewhere at one of the "t" joints. Then all your instruments and sensors come of one on each "t" only along the length. You should not have any doglegs or extra bits hanging on side arms. It is easy to get it right and easy to get it wrong, sometimes you get away with it and sometimes it plays up in weird ways. PM or thread if you need more assistance.
__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2010, 12:50   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Hi Geoffs,
the network has worked perfectly for more than a year and only started playing up on a trip when I lost a single guage completely. When I got home I reconnected a network cable that had came loose and checked all the others for tightness.
I all came back up but every now and again it drops out again, all three guages lose the motor but the GPS stays up and this is on the network after the gauges and motor.
I have went round and rechecked and tightened every connection again but haven't been out much recently.
I should be out tomorrow and will see how it gets on.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.