Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 July 2008, 15:07   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
NMEA engine interface

The instructions supplied for these are completely pants
I have the covers off my 2006 DF90 and I am stumped about how it connects.
Looking on the net there seems to lots of contadictory information about what will and will not work with what.
I have analogue gauges and want to keep them, don't want to use the trim function but do want the other info on the network to show up on my plotter.
How the h**l do I get it hooked up at the outboard end and where and with what!
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2008, 16:41   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Easier said than done as there are two different connectors depending on engine year. Your engine probably has the round diagnostic plug, which probably has a black rubber cap on it. It'll be on the port side just above the black plastic casing which protects the ECU. However, if you have a new style nmea interface, it'll probably have a square connector on the end, in which case you will need an adaptor. If not, it should just plug in fine.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2008, 16:46   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Edited cos I looked stoopid and was talking complete nonsense, or at least more than normal................
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2008, 16:57   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Oops, just had one of those "blond moments"
I had the whole outboard casing apart looking for this plug and assumed the drawing showing the comms port was the grey plug. This is the Joint connector which explains the shorting cap!
The rubber covered plug looked like a engine warning buzzer to me so I didn't try and take the cover off or look at it closely as I didn't realise thats what it was.
As soon as you said above the ECU it was just "Do'h!"
I assume I can have the trim analogue gauge working as well as the network version? Its one or the t'other?
Now my credibility destroyed I'm away to sit in the corner..............
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 07:49   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Don't worry, you have my full sympathy.... the Lowrance instructions are pathetic, and the info on their webite as to what data the unit can show is totally non-existant.

Just to clarify, you can only have one trim display connected. Either the nmea loom or the traditional guage.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 10:33   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
That was my understanding of the trim function.
I reckon I will use the analogue gauge I was supplied and installed and it it ever chucks it will replace with an LMF-200 and go onto the network.
I am awaiting a lowrance 4800 to use as a slave repeater off my LCX-27 so it will be fun programming it all, the instructions from Suzuki, Lowrance and generally for NMEA 2000 are almost non-existent!
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 18:41   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
Hi Bruce, What Lowrance unit are you trying to display the data on? i am a Lowrance dealer, so will be able to assist.

I can also do you a list of bits required and diagram of how to connect it all up if you want.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lowrance_Suzuki_Interface.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	36578  
__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 18:48   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Hi Geoff,
Its all in and working, despite the Lowrance instructions!
I have an LCX-27 repeating onto a GM 4800 in full gauge mode. Both running interfaced with a Suzuki engine interface.
The user interface for Lowrance isn't nearly as intuitive as Garmin so I still need to learn how to use it all, basic parameter and programming is done, just the actual using to be learnt now and programing in my waypoints.
Once I get used to it I should be fine, I hope
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 18:58   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
NMEA 2000 is really easy, just looks difficult!

Will make my life easier on the long run!

Let me know if you get stuck.
__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2008, 16:35   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Quick question on NMEA engine networks and lowrance LMF-400 gauges.
I mind reading somewhere that in the US the Suzuki motors are supplied with network gauges only (rebranded Lowrance) instead of the analogue gauges supplied here.
Does this mean that I can use two LMF-400 gauges and remove the Suzuki supplied gauges entirely, ie all the engine alarm functions etc will work on the network gauges?
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.