Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 July 2008, 15:02   #1
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
NMEA colours

Trying to connect a Yeoman plotter to a lap top and give it a GPS signal from a Raymarine GPS pickup (small white mushroom type). Its on a yacht, and I dont know what Raymarine unit it is, but there are 4 wires coming from it white, purple and black, cant remember the 4th colour.. (green )

Question, does NMEA have a colour standard ? or has the original installer of 8 years or so ago just used a handy bit of 4 core ? cos I need to know which way to conect up to the 232 to usb interface to let the laptop get a gps position to work the plotter, I have another way of doing this, but would prefer to hook into the ships original gps receiver
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 16:32   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmuz7 View Post
Question, does NMEA have a colour standard ?
nah that would make life too easy!
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 17:31   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
No chance even when you buy a new plotter and a new VHF they have different colour coding for the NMEA interface.

Generally there is one wire for transmit, one for recieve then a common wire which may well be the braided outer bit.

You need to dog up on old user manual to check whats what.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 17:38   #4
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Bigmuz

I thought perhaps you were talking about a Raymarine Raystar 125, but the wires coming out of that would be different colours. Red, yellow, Brown, green, and the shield.

The Technical sections of Raymarines website are very good with handbooks and installation guides available to download for lots of older models of kit.
It may take some time to find, but its probably there somewhere.

Good luck

Nasher.
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 17:45   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
nah that would make life too easy!
Especially when Navman mix up their colours!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 17:46   #6
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
The original installer has wired some kind of buz bar for gps use which commons two colours, and has replicated these dual sets about six times on a multiblock connector .. Does NMEA only require 2 signals for a GPS position or more ?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 18:10   #7
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
In theory you need a +ve NMEA out and a -ve NMEA out from the sending gear connected to a +ve NMEA in and -ve NMEA in from the receiving gear.

So you should only need 2 wires from the GPS unit for the NMEA.
However the Raymarine unit is probably an active unit, so also requires a 12V +ve and -ve to run.

Nasher
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 18:37   #8
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
OK thanks Nasher & guys.. I'll have another go at this one
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2008, 19:00   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Muz, just to confuse things a bit more - are you certain its running in NMEA mode - some of these can be set up to run SeaTalk (different standard for doing much the same thing) as well.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 July 2008, 18:43   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Muz, just to confuse things a bit more - are you certain its running in NMEA mode - some of these can be set up to run SeaTalk (different standard for doing much the same thing) as well.
Full marks Polwart.... it was sea Talk after all..

Once we'd worked out what the auto helm was doing .. things started making sense plus .. the charting dongle /interface for the yeoman was wired wrong GRR why couldnt simple standards or colours be adhered to.. it would make so much more sense
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.