Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 December 2015, 04:03   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,571
Nmea

need clarification please.
just bought a standard horizonn GX1200E DSC fixed radio wiring up to a lowrance elite 7 combo.both bought this year

radio diagram
GPS +VE INPUT TO NMEA +VE OUT
GPS - VE INPUT TO NMEA - VE OUT

DSC + VE OUTPUT TO NMEA + VE IN
DSC + VE OUTPUT TO NMEA + VE IN

chartplotter marked up as +VE & -VE TX & RX
DOES TX GO TO GPS INPUT +/+ & -/-
RX TO DSC +/+ & -/-
reason for asking lowrance have sent me a diagram with GPS to VHF
-ve green DSC RX-ve
=ve yellow GPS TX +ve.
any help much appriciated

cheers
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2015, 07:34   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Jeff,

TX on a given machone is "transmit", "RX" is "receive".

So, Based on what you have written there, your "GPS" + & - o nthe radio need to go tot the TX + & - on the plotter.

Nowm, assuming your Lowrance is like my somewhat older one, the NMEA (O183) uses the common -ve. I have my Icom " NMEA in" -ve plumbed straight to the same place as the radio's -ve power.

Again, assuming I;m reading what you wrote right, You would then need to connect your yellow wire to the NMEA in +ve on the radio.

Hope that helps......
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2015, 08:15   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,571
9D280

thanks for the reply having never done one before not sure, the radio book says GPS & DSC + & - coupled to NMEA out GPS & NMEA in to DSC 4 wires.
on the NMEA0183 installation guide it shows TX + & - & RX + & - 4 wires so my thinking was TX to input radio and RX to output radio 4 wires.
not being sure i contacted lowrance they came back with the two wires system couple one to the dsc & one to the GPS RX -VE & TX +VE so it looks like the RX & TX split to accomadate AIS if required sort of the DSC & GPS in series if that makes sence.so GPS position from chartplotter to radio through DSC to transmition.
not my strong point by any means thought it might be a plug and play WRONG!

cheers
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2015, 16:18   #4
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: Kerteminde
Boat name: Genesis 340FTD
Make: Walker Bay
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15 hp 4sroke
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 24
Hi Jeff,
Assuming you are using NMEA0183. Plotter TX+ ( should be yellow on Garmin) & TX - ( blue ) go to the NMEA in (may say RX ) + & - on the radio, Don't forget to ground the negative at one end or the other. This is how I wired my elite 7m to a Simrad rs 12 & it functions fine. Hope this helps. Regards Dave Marten.
__________________
DavidMarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 02:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMarten View Post
Hi Jeff,
Assuming you are using NMEA0183. Plotter TX+ ( should be yellow on Garmin) & TX - ( blue ) go to the NMEA in (may say RX ) + & - on the radio, Don't forget to ground the negative at one end or the other. This is how I wired my elite 7m to a Simrad rs 12 & it functions fine. Hope this helps. Regards Dave Marten.
I may be wrong but using a ground connection on the - wire is not always the correct answer. Some implementations of NMEA only send dat on the + wire and negative is a true ground, others send data via both + and - wire. To confuse people even more some don't have the minus wire because they use the GND instead...

Provided both instruments are grounded to the same ground (i.e. running off the same 12v battery) you may not actually need the GND or -ve wire at all, but on other implementations you may!

I think 2000 is intended to be "plug n play" but I gather from what I've read its on par with Windows 95 Plug n Play. i.e. it was more plug n fiddle!)
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 03:46   #6
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: Kerteminde
Boat name: Genesis 340FTD
Make: Walker Bay
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15 hp 4sroke
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 24
To ground or not to ground

Hi Shiny, You may be right, I'm just talking from my own experience about 0183,which incidentally works fine for me, if it ain't broke ect.
Shame manufacturers can't use a standard color and configuration with the wiring on their equipment!
__________________
DavidMarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 03:51   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMarten View Post
Hi Shiny, You may be right, I'm just talking from my own experience about 0183,which incidentally works fine for me, if it ain't broke ect.
Shame manufacturers can't use a standard color and configuration with the wiring on their equipment!
They don't even manage within their own kit! So getting cross industry agreement is a LONG way off...
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 03:54   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
You may need to set the communication speed to the correct setting on the GPS as well. there are normally several options and its a case of testing which one works.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 12:15   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,571
gents

thanks very much for the input.
had a shufftie through old threads last night and saw one by darren moon similer to my prediciment.long story short PMed darren he got straight back sent me a few pics then went to his boat stripped back the loom and gave me the coulour conections he has and works TOP BLOKE, THE result is for any one with standard horizon radio to lowrance elite chartplotter.
radio blue + to yellow + tx plotter
green - to blue - tx

grey + to orange + rx
brown - to green - rx

output baud set to 4800 on the plotter lowrance elite 7
radios standard horizon gx1200e i think his a 1700e

cheers
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2015, 19:40   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post

I think 2000 is intended to be "plug n play" but I gather from what I've read its on par with Windows 95 Plug n Play. i.e. it was more plug n fiddle!)


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
output baud set to 4800 on the plotter

4800 seems to be a good place to start. Most Serial interface issues I have had got solved by forcing one end of the conversation to 4800.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
not being sure i contacted lowrance they came back with the two wires system couple one to the dsc & one to the GPS RX -VE & TX +VE so it looks like the RX & TX split to accomadate AIS if required
aye, you'll need two wires if the radio also squirts out AIS info - one to tell the radio where you are and the other to let the plotter know what other boat positions the radio is picking up on channel 70something.... if you don't have an AIS receiving radio only 1 (2 if you need to connect the NMEA 0813 -ve)

did that make sense?
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.