Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 May 2004, 05:21   #1
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Nmea

Anyone connected the NMEA from a Silva S10 to a Garmin 182c. The instructions are less that helpful and I don't really want to damage the units before I use them.

Andy
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2004, 17:04   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
Connect the red wire from the plug on the back of the S10 to wire marked as NMEA out TX on the 182. blue for com1 or green for com 2, doesn't matter which one as long as you enable the NMEA output in the menu. You don't need to connect anything else as the screen and return are connected through the negative on the radio.
The instructions for the S10 are not very clear as you say
__________________

__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2004, 17:19   #3
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Thanks

Thank you Mr Bear.

The instructions aren't that clear, are they!

What do you do with the negative from the radio? Am I right that you said in your post, not to use it?

I have a Nmea Out on my Navman fishfinder also, it has a speed transducer. What do you think the deal is with this? Do you think I can connect this as well?

Any comments welcome,

Andy
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2004, 04:41   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
You have two NMEA inputs/outputs on your 182 but should get away with using just one. Connect the fishfinder Tx wire to the brown (Rx) wire coming out the 182.
This leave you NMEA Ch2 on your 182 for anything else you may wish to fit in the future.
The wires connected from the radio are +red and -black to the battery (12v) and the red wire from the small plug connected to the nmea output from your 182 as described above. the small black/screen wire from the plug on your radio does not need to be connected.
__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2004, 13:12   #5
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Excellent!!! Thanks very much for taking the time to put me right. I'll do the wiring at the weekend.

Andy
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Simrad Rd68 | Top | Vhf.... »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Member's RIBs

Beee

W0LF

Osprey

tocho
Add your RIB



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.