Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 January 2012, 14:36   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Dont forget there is no need to mount the GPS aerial on the Aframe in the first place. Most of the modern GPS aerials will work even if they are inside the console.

If you do decide to go down this route I may have a spare 25ft NMEA cable available for a good price.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2012, 18:52   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
[QUOTE=Chris;439063]Dont forget there is no need to mount the GPS aerial on the Aframe in the first place. Most of the modern GPS aerials will work even if they are inside the console.
QUOTE]
I'm in the process of fitting AIS, the recommendation is to mount the GPS antenna as low down as possible to reduce fluctuations due to rolling. It's going inside the console.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2012, 18:54   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Dont forget there is no need to mount the GPS aerial on the Aframe in the first place. Most of the modern GPS aerials will work even if they are inside the console
I'm in the process of fitting AIS. The recommendation is to mount the GPS puck as low as possible to reduce fluctuations due to rolling. It's going in the console, out of the way.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2012, 06:27   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian M View Post
Lowrance quote a NMEA 2000 network backbone maximum length of 100 metres, but also state that any device should not be more than approximately 6 metres from its 'T' connector.
Set up info here http://www.lowrance.com/upload/Lowra...173_112006.pdf
Ian, cheers, that's the sort of info I was after. As many have said, not a problem on my boat!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Bruce, I may have dreamt this but I think you can get a box which will let you wire any sensor or alarm in and it will broadcast it onto your network, if you set it up right. Bet it is not cheap though.
Or just buy "plug in" themal & pressure sensors from Lowrance or the other crowd that does them at around 70 each. Current plan is a pressure sensor hanging off the cooling system and a thermal strapped to the head. May also add a fuel flow, but right now the aim of the game is to warn me it's about to go bang seeing as it has absolutely nothing in the way of warnings other than noticing the telltale has stopped.

And before you all ask why use NMEA - the cost of the sensor is in the ballpark of what I would pay to get a separate analogue gauge & sensor, so why drill more holes in my console for gauges that there is no space to fit anyway when I can set a couple of alarms on the plotter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
I'm in the process of fitting AIS. The recommendation is to mount the GPS puck as low as possible to reduce fluctuations due to rolling. It's going in the console, out of the way.
I can maybe see that on a yacht, or the bridge of a cruiser, but surely a clear view of the sky is going to reduce error a lot more than the movement due to roll of a Rib A- frame? With lots of good satellite signals & WAAS engaged you are looking at a guestimated metre or so accuracy. It's not like you need milimeter level accuracy for something that will put you a metre to the left if you rolled 90 degrees while you are horsing along at 20 plus knots.

Can't argue with the tidy comment tho!
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.