Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 June 2014, 12:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
NMEA 0183 nightmare

Wiring the Standard Horizon GX2100e to a Garmin 451s

I've wired it up according to this diagram:
http://www.standardhorizon.com/downl...lication%2Fpdf

Not getting any position/time shown on the radio so not convinced they are communicating.

I have been, however, setting up in a garage and the garmin hasn't found a satellite (flashing ? over the boat)

Could this be the reason nothing is being passed to the VHF? I'm not sure as the Garmin is displaying a position albeit in the wrong place in the USA.

Any help appreciated.
__________________

__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:28   #2
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Did you set the garmin to talk NMEA-NMEA.

Been there before.
__________________

__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:34   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
Garmin port 1 is set to nmea std

Do I have to change anything else?
__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:38   #4
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Erm, can't remember what menu it's in and my manual is in the boat but I don't think that's it.

I struggled for ages then I realised it was set wrong.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:51   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
Not with the boat now but there were some random acronyms that were either on or off in one of the menus that I didn't change from default. Can anyone advise? Thanks.
__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:58   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
At least with mine...
The GPS does have to have enough of a signal to acquire a position otherwise you'll get a bunch of dashes on the VHF. You might have to pull it out of the garage.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 12:58   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 222
Without a valid satellite the lock, the data will not be accepted by the VHF. If you are unsure if there is data getting through, just stick a meter on VDC across the two wires...should be 3-5v flickering on an off. If it was me I would stick the two wires on my tongue...its easy to tell that way....but that's me not you.
__________________
Will75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 13:00   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancashire , Scotland
Boat name: TARKA
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: 3.3,75
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 196
Online manual - have a quick look at page 51-52

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GP...6_OM_WW_EN.pdf

Alan.
__________________
Alzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 13:13   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
Think it may be the sentence stuff but not sure what it needs to be set to
__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2014, 13:27   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigi36 View Post
Think it may be the sentence stuff but not sure what it needs to be set to
You're on a hiding to nowhere until you get a valid GPS lock on the Garmin.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.