Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 July 2008, 07:57   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Navman smartcraft gateway problem

Right, any navman experts here?

I have a navman 8120 and have just had a optimax fitted..I decided to fit the smartcraft gateway( for the bling factor) but cant get it to work!

There are 3 lights on the gateway, one for power, one for talking to the smartcraft and one for for talking to the Navman; I cant get the Navman one to light up.

I have gone as per the instructions and set the Navman to talk to the Smartcraft but to no avail

Anybody offer any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 July 2008, 08:19   #2
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Check it's the right lead - I struggled with one of those for ages before I realised they had sent the wrong one!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 July 2008, 12:52   #3
Member
 
ribraff's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dartmouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,210
Hi Cookee

Do you mean the smartcraft gateway? This is the only thing i can see that is the problem, the two lights are on - power and smartcraft but the yellow light which indicates that the gateway is talking to the Navman will not light up.
Is there a part number for the correct lead.

Cheers
__________________
ribraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 July 2008, 16:26   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
They only do one that I can see; the single engine gateway which I got!(admittedly, they do a double engine one if any is being picky!!)
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 July 2008, 16:50   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Coast
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,445
Hi
I have the same set up, my engine being the Mariner Opti 115. I have to say I had no problems at all.
However is there any evidence that your engine is already "talking" via the Smartcraft gauges? All the info that can be displayed on the 8120 should be accessable on the gauges when scrooling through.
If this info is present, then you can start to examine the Smartcraft gateway to the 8120, if not then the problem will lie elso where.

Just a thought, do the spare unused terminals on the hub have blanking caps on them?
__________________
250kts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2008, 09:17   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
There are or at least were two different gateways, and despite telling the suppliers which one I had they sent the wrong one and it didn't work at all. One is for the smallest Navman unit and the other is for the larger units.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 July 2008, 12:58   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
ok, better look into that, according to the fitting instructions, and a multitude of online sites one gateway fits all the different navman models, just has to be set up differently in the head unit
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 09:14   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
so, can anyone tell me what the right model number is for a gateway to fit the 8120? I have looked on t internet and all it says is Smartcraft single engine gateway!

I have the AA 005020, I think and from what I can see this should work
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 09:24   #9
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller View Post
so, can anyone tell me what the right model number is for a gateway to fit the 8120? I have looked on t internet and all it says is Smartcraft single engine gateway!

I have the AA 005020, I think and from what I can see this should work
Page 23 - http://www.plastimo.com/pdf/NAVMAN_a...Guide_2007.pdf

The numbers don't match up but there are two check you have the right one!



Told you!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 12:58   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
right so I need the 51765, if thats what I havent got!

now we re getting somewhere!

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.