Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 July 2008, 14:55   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Coast
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,445
Miller

Sorry to add to your woes, but I have got the AA 005020 and it works fine.

When I tried to order the 51765, and this is what I was sent!!

Navman ..... great kit but their guides and downloads just dont add up!
__________________
250kts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 15:00   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
ok, so the aa 005020 is part no. 51765??!!

Ok, so this isnt going very well at the mo.
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 July 2008, 15:15   #13
Member
 
ribraff's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dartmouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,209
ballache
__________________
ribraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2008, 13:28   #14
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
where does the gateway plug into?? i got optimax with 2 smartcraft gauges! will it just plug in or do i need something else aswell as the gateway!!
__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2008, 13:35   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I assume all these engine networks are the same? The instructions are pants?
Just went through the same problems with Lowrance
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2008, 15:23   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
I think it comes off the Tacho, though I could be wrong?

Doesnt matter where you plug it in, still doesnt work!!!
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 July 2008, 08:52   #17
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtflash View Post
where does the gateway plug into?? i got optimax with 2 smartcraft gauges! will it just plug in or do i need something else aswell as the gateway!!
If you have a Smartcraft compatible GPS, then the Gateway plugs into the same connector as the tacho and speedo - it is a lead with a small block with some lights on it - that should be it!

Bruce B - Mercury have their own network as do the other manufacturers

Miller - what age is the engine you have?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2008, 14:15   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Engine is brand new, I have got everything to show on the screen now apart from the speedo?!

I know this comes of the paddlewheel...If you disconnect the smartcraft interface, that works?!
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2008, 03:08   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
Not that it helps but I have a 8120 with a Opti 225 and it works fine. However getting it to work was a nightmare.

Apparently there are two types of smartcraft and they are smartcraft and smartcraft (smart eh?) (in fact 1 and 2 but they are not called that - pure brilliance!)

Engines 2000 and 2001 are usually type 1 which is not compatible with the 2001 onwards smartcraft (type 2). I bought a 8120 after being told by barrus and navman that it would work only to then discover about the differences. After much mucking about and both sides saying they didn't know (their own products!) I found an excellent guy at barrus that asked me for the ECU no of my opti. This meant that in fact mine would work despite being the older engine.

All works fine now thanks the the pure brilliance of Kieron at ribshop http://www.rib-shop.co.uk/ - I also have another Navman plotter as a backup which is linked and shows all the gauges (cheaper to buy the plotter than the gauges from mercury!)

System is superb except that if you get an error message or warning (failed oil tank sender the other day) you keep getting error message every minute which cannot be turned off (unless you disable smartcraft) making the system a real pain. Imagine Windows telling you your antivirus is out of date every minute and that will give you some idea (only at 35kts).

BTW - Oil sender assy - Phoned around a load of Opti dealers who didn't carry it in stock. Phone Kieron at ribshop and he had one on the shelf, lent it to me to try and it works a treat - these guys never cease to amaze me, always helpful and know there stuff.
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2008, 07:57   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
You know thats strange, this is the second time in 2 threads I have read about the optimax displaying an oil level sensor fault..Mine is doing it all the time, even though the tank is full right up!

Spoke to dealer, he said take the tank out and give it a good shake, that should sort it...It hasnt!

Is this a common fault?

Back to topic, all works fine now apart from speedo?!
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.