Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 November 2004, 12:25   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Aylesbury/Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Optimax
MMSI: 235021048
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 859
Navman 7100 Radio

When I am on dual watch scan (67 and 16) I find my transmissions to the Coastguard are garbled. If I am on 67 only, they are fine. Is this what I should expect?
__________________

__________________
brucehawsker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2004, 14:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hertfordshire
Boat name: Enfield Explorer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x115HP Optimax
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Only if you don't buy an Icom.

NOW can I have a discount, Jon?


David
__________________

__________________
rads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2004, 17:45   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Quote:
Originally Posted by rads
Only if you don't buy an Icom.

NOW can I have a discount, Jon?


David
Nice try Dave
oh a fault on a 7100

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 03:42   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Aylesbury/Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Optimax
MMSI: 235021048
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 859
Dear Mr Brooks,

I am not sure I find gloating that helpful !

Seriously, if Icom had a product ready for my build, I would have bought it. But your low price product, though announced, was not avaialble. Nor was Raymarine's.

My reason for the Navman was:

I was a complete beginner and did not expect to use it much
I wanted DSC as a safety precaution with a 15 year old son, and both of us being out together as beginners
Budget - if I found I nedded more I could invest in your 600+ box

This one seems to work fine in most circumstances. The manual is horrible - written for anyone but a beginner.

Most likely I have screwed up, not the unit.

If I set it onto Channel 67, and press scan, it tells me it is monitoring 16 and 67, and it is because I can follow converstaions which strart on 16 and move to 67.

If I talk to Solent on 67, when the unit is not in scan mode, they can hear me fine.

Problem seems to arise when I press the mic and speak when the unit is in scan mode monitoring 16 and 67.

Any ideas, Jon, or anyone?

Thanks

Bruce
__________________
brucehawsker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 04:32   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Hi Bruce

My first impression of this set are very good.
Seems well built and easy to use.

Interesting fact/story......the new Raymarine is built in the same factory!

My test for ease of use is to go an a stand at a show and play with the unit.
If I can fly it with out a book, its good.
I could with this unit.
There are a few that I cant, maybe its me

To date I have heard of no faults with them.
So was over the moon to hear someone had a problem, sorry it was you!

If I had to make an educated guess I would think it is a processor problem of some kind,.
But with out hearing it is hard to diagnose.
Does it happen on all channels if you are scanning/daul watching.
Try it on a few othe channels.

Speak to Mark Larkin at Navman UK.
Nice bloke, should be able to help you out.

Hope that explains my gloating!

Hope you get it sorted.
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 06:25   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
Bruce
Normally, if you are on d/w and need to transmit on 16, you MUST cancel d/w first.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 10:02   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
Bruce
Normally, if you are on d/w and need to transmit on 16, you MUST cancel d/w first.
Agreed. Brian beat me to it.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 15:13   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Aylesbury/Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Optimax
MMSI: 235021048
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 859
Aha, getting clearer now. If on dual watch 16/67 and I want to transmit, the rule is I have to stop dual watch. Yes?

If on dual watch, the screen shows 67, but set is listening to 67 and 16. If I transmit in this dual watch mode, it is garbled.

Is this because:

1) I am wrong to attempt to transmit in dual watch mode, and this is plain stupid ;
2) Tranmitting when 67 shows means a transmission on 67, even when 16 is being listened to, and (a) 67 happened to have interference when I tested the radio, or (b) my radio may have a problem transmitting on 67

I understand that if I want to call on 16, I need to come off dual watch and thumb the '16' button.

Thanks and sorry to be so dumb!
__________________
brucehawsker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 15:27   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
1
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2004, 15:38   #10
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
...and 2a and 2b ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brucehawsker
Is this because:

1) I am wrong to attempt to transmit in dual watch mode, and this is plain stupid ;
Not stupid at all - you should be able to transmit on the user selected channel, (ie on channel 67 in this case) but not, like Brian and JW state, on 16
Quote:
2) Tranmitting when 67 shows means a transmission on 67, even when 16 is being listened to, and (a) 67 happened to have interference when I tested the radio, or (b) my radio may have a problem transmitting on 67
Sounds logical.
Quote:
I understand that if I want to call on 16, I need to come off dual watch and thumb the '16' button.
Correct.

Certainly this is how our "old" Icom M59 Euro works.
__________________

Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.