Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 January 2011, 06:48   #21
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
I have that version running with data turned off, it seems to work well enough. No idea what the data useage could be.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 06:56   #22
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
It's such a big file you should download in on your computer and sync it across IMHO. We both have it on ours and sitting in the pub after a days boating it is great for planning the next day's stuff. Once it has downloaded theres no data usage unless you use the marina photos or something. The entire chart is on the phone, and of course GPS is passive at the other end so no cost to use it to navigate either. It is a great backup, if the main plotter failed you could knock up a route on it then navigate using the compass.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 06:59   #23
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
It is a great backup, if the main plotter failed you could knock up a route on it then navigate using the compass.
I was going to make a smart ass comment amount paper charts being a good backup too. But then I remembered the cruising speeds you like to maintain and realised a paper chart is going to have the life expectancy of a fruit fly.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 07:04   #24
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by malthouse View Post
I was going to make a smart ass comment amount paper charts being a good backup too. But then I remembered the cruising speeds you like to maintain and realised a paper chart is going to have the life expectancy of a fruit fly.
Haha yes indeed. Although the Admiralty Tough Charts have had a fair few outings. Easily usable up to a cruising speed of around 20knts in calm conditions. They proved their worth on Brehat last year, although at one stage there was a conflict with the plotter and we ended up anchoring in the only place where anchoring was prohibited.....we think... but we're not really sure TBH!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 07:13   #25
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
I was going to say a back-up gps would be good as a back-up!
The navionics app is great for looking at stuff while sat in the pub but I wouldn't like to navigate by it!
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 08:06   #26
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
The navionics app is great for looking at stuff while sat in the pub but I wouldn't like to navigate by it!
I have used the Navionics when on other people's boats from time to time, so see if the skipper is where he thinks he is. And it works ok, but no use at all in a spot of roughers or if the april showers got the month wrong.

For a backup plotter I fancy one of these
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 08:08   #27
Member
 
MarkM's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Breda
Make: Scorpion
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 250 DI
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 368
Thanks everyone for the answers
__________________
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 11:10   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by malthouse View Post
For a backup plotter I fancy one of these
Luckily the price matches the model number !!!! I still dont know why they stopped making the 276c.....I love mine....

still about if you look on ebay ...http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Garmin-276c-Ca...item3f0697a611

And Iphones on a boat - near water... If I had to I think I'd rather use the force to find my way home.
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 11:57   #29
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterM View Post
Luckily the price matches the model number !!!! I still dont know why they stopped making the 276c.....I love mine....
Yeah, a hugely popular range of devices those. The 620 is lovely to use though, a little iPhone like it it's tactile ergowatsits. Waterproof, rechargeable built it battery, touchyfeelyscreen. Mmmmm

But for 400 quid you get an iPad which will fit in a waterproof case!

As posted before, a wifi marine hub with NMEA2000 input would be lovely. Give it time.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2011, 13:12   #30
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by malthouse View Post
As posted before, a wifi marine hub with NMEA2000 input would be lovely. Give it time.
Idea for next year is a video cable with a composite input into the Raymarine. Then you could use the iphone as a proper plotter... however the real plotter would have to be working for it to work I suppose if the mushroom packed up it might help though Although on ours we've got two so could just switch it over I s'pose.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.