Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 December 2015, 07:39   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Yes they just plug into the NMEA Network.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 December 2015, 08:56   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
I periodically switch the instrument lights on for a few hours - seems to dry them out OK.

(Yam analog gauges)
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2015, 11:47   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Seeing as the OP is talking about a dedicated trim gauge I think he means the older style analogue ones rather than i-commands etc. I think in the past willk has had success with putting one of those little silica gel packs into the back of them, and then sealing them up. To be honest I think nearly all do it anyway, and if they don't, they just end up covered in fingerprints anyway!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2016, 02:57   #14
Spammer
 
Country: Canada
Town: Southern Ontario
Boat name: -Unknown-
Make: SeaMax
Length: 4m +
Engine: Merc/Minn Kota
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 216
Breath the top of the gauges, ie drill say 1/8th inch hole or two at highest point of gauge housing below the rim seal. It will ventilate condensation. Good luck.
__________________
Nightfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2016, 04:38   #15
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfisher View Post
Breath the top of the gauges, ie drill say 1/8th inch hole or two at highest point of gauge housing below the rim seal. It will ventilate condensation. Good luck.
Is it not better to drill at the bottom so that and liquid water collecting there can drain?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2016, 19:47   #16
Spammer
 
Country: Canada
Town: Southern Ontario
Boat name: -Unknown-
Make: SeaMax
Length: 4m +
Engine: Merc/Minn Kota
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 216
Yes, I agree. But usually the bottom of gauges do have a small hole/vent or rely on the clamp mount (not sealed) allowing for water to exit..suppose that may actually be allowing for moisture getting into it. Do you own a boat, POLY?
__________________
Nightfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2016, 03:28   #17
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfisher View Post
Yes, I agree. But usually the bottom of gauges do have a small hole/vent or rely on the clamp mount (not sealed) allowing for water to exit..suppose that may actually be allowing for moisture getting into it. Do you own a boat, POLY?
Nightfisher, you can save yourself from SHOUTING by just looking in my profile - like almost everyone else my boat details are there.

For ribs I am a fan of well sealed gauges and electronics. It is possible and it is frustrating when manufacturers don't engineer their product like that.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2016, 03:44   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfisher View Post
Do you own a boat, POLY?
WELL?! DO YOU??

Never had it with my digi Icommands. I do try the whole rig to a crisp in a fairly airtight shed over the winter, using a dehume. Dunno if that helps.
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2016, 04:48   #19
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfisher View Post
Yes, I agree. But usually the bottom of gauges do have a small hole/vent or rely on the clamp mount (not sealed) allowing for water

I'd reduce the spark gap on the flux capacitor & tweak the gain on the input resonator, that should do it👍
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2016, 05:35   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
I'd reduce the spark gap on the flux capacitor
When I tried that, I got a helluva belt! I was back at school when I came to!
__________________

__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.