Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 July 2011, 13:45   #1
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
MMSI VHF reset?

after a meet up with fellow ribnet members today (good to meet you folks) i realised i had forgot to change the MMSI in my XM vhf.

i tried to call the number in the makers (XM) but i'm going to assume the worst and they are gone since number is dead. anyone got any ideas how i can get this reset or is it buy a new VHF time?

cheers
__________________

__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 14:03   #2
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
It should be possible, which model is it?
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 14:13   #3
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
XMDSC marine radio is all the manual says. also says 25/1 watt

HTH

cheers
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 15:27   #4
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
I am not familiar with this set but most sets can not be changed by the user (ie a proper dealer/service agent can)
__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 16:11   #5
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
XMDSC marine radio is all the manual says.
PM Sent
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 18:31   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Why not make it public? Is secrecy power?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2011, 18:41   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Why not make it public? Is secrecy power?
Because if you make it public, thieves can find out how to erase it.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2011, 05:52   #8
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
little update folks, i managed to get the original MMSI number put into my name fairly easily.

couple of things you need from the original owner are the MMSI, call sign, name and address. if you struggle with any of that you can call ofcom and they will ask some questions re the original owner to confirm you own the equipment legally and can assist with mmsi, call sign etc. if you have those 2 it can be registered against your name on the ofcom licencing website.

thanks for help channel ribs-appreciated.

cheers
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2011, 06:04   #9
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
thanks for help channel ribs-appreciated.


Any time.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2013, 14:16   #10
ki7
Member
 
Country: Germany
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
XM DSC MMSI reset?

I've bought the XM DSC on the well known auction platform. I need to get the MMSI reset. can anybody help? Since I bought it from Austria and I live in Germany I can not transfer the MMSI that is installed, to my vessel.

regards

Ki
__________________

__________________
ki7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.