Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 April 2013, 13:10   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterM View Post
Put the radio where the little white hatch is and the hatch where the radio is ...then put the mic just off the bottom right hand side of the plotter above the 'new' radio position...simples.......
I think you're right....
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 13:11   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
I think you're right....
Not another console change thread?
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 13:13   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Not another console change thread?
No, there's nothing can be done now. Spent enough having all the rayrubbish holes filled in...

Just need to find a way to thread the sounder cable now.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 13:35   #14
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post

VHF external speaker. What's the point of a stereo on a fast open boat...?
How else do you listen to the Shipping Forecast?


In all honesty, I wouldn't have fitted one either if it hadn't been insanely reduced in price.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 14:59   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe - Plymouth
Boat name: Teal
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard Petrol 175
MMSI: 235087776
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 58
Garmin 200

Quote:
Originally Posted by redthunder View Post
Be careful with that VHF. I had mine there and the mike got snapped where it joins the radio hence have moved and got a Garmin 100i which has a permanent connection to the VHF.
Here is a is my set up. It works well, mic goes in the centre where the black dot is. My vote is for mic in the centre , no problems with mic cables, my grab handle helps.

Only problem is the Garmin 200i the mic connector has got broken twice, when it gets knocked. I am now trying to swop it for a Garmin 100.

That is the radio cover above the throttle not another radio.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0142.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	78535   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0141.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	78536  
__________________
sirib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 15:06   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirib View Post
Here is a is my set up. It works well, mic goes in the centre where the black dot is. My vote is for mic in the centre , no problems with mic cables, my grab handle helps.

Only problem is the Garmin 200i the mic connector has got broken twice, when it gets knocked. I am now trying to swop it for a Garmin 100.

That is the radio cover above the throttle not another radio.
Is that a 5012 plotter?

Interesting you've had two fail and redthunder has had his fail too however I notice on yours the connector appears to be plastic where on ours it is a metal ring? Perhaps this is an improvement garmin have made in response to the issue? We are currently thinking go for blue. Can always add a second hanger on the orange for times when there is a codriver or the white locker is being used? But we will learn from using it if that is going to be an issue I'm sure.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 15:46   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe - Plymouth
Boat name: Teal
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard Petrol 175
MMSI: 235087776
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 58
Plotter is 5008 touch screen, it was the biggest I could fit in. Also have AIS600 inside the console. Plotter is great had a few problems when big waves off Lands End dumped on me and the plotter, the plotter had a fit thinking the water was my hand, and went off the scale, just when I needed it most. Eventually recalibrated the screen and now waves can break over it without any problems.

I will have a chat with Garmin about getting an i200 with a metal connector, I think that will solve the problems I have had.
__________________
sirib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 15:57   #18
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirib View Post
Plotter is 5008 touch screen, it was the biggest I could fit in. Also have AIS600 inside the console. Plotter is great had a few problems when big waves off Lands End dumped on me and the plotter, the plotter had a fit thinking the water was my hand, and went off the scale, just when I needed it most. Eventually recalibrated the screen and now waves can break over it without any problems.

I will have a chat with Garmin about getting an i200 with a metal connector, I think that will solve the problems I have had.
Yes we have moved to an NMEA 2000 AIS too to make everything 2k. Thought the AIS600 was a little pricey so went with the digital yacht ait2000. Your plotter is really snug there, couldn't have gone even a half inch bigger!

When playing with the plotter on the bench a few months ago I found you can lock out the touch screen by pressing the on/off button which could be useful. What about in rain? Martini said his had only lost the plot once due to water so I'm not too worried. I'll go back to the boat on Friday and take a close up of the connector but I think I'm right in saying it's metal on ours where yours is plastic.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 16:05   #19
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
I think when I go to AIS I'll just buy a Lowrance Link-8 (NMEA2000 compatible VHF with inbuilt AIS.)

It works out about cheaper than buying a decent NMEA2000 compatible AIS, plus ariel and co-ax.

Another big plus is no messing around under the deck routing more stuff. Now I've set up the network, not using the plug-n-playability of it would be a bit silly.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2013, 16:30   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
I think when I go to AIS I'll just buy a Lowrance Link-8 (NMEA2000 compatible VHF with inbuilt AIS.)

It works out about cheaper than buying a decent NMEA2000 compatible AIS, plus ariel and co-ax.

Another big plus is no messing around under the deck routing more stuff. Now I've set up the network, not using the plug-n-playability of it would be a bit silly.
You could do that but personally I wouldn't.

1. It's only a receiver, which, to all intents and purposes is completely pointless.
2. If you don't want to run a new coax or dedicated antenna just use a splitter
3. The Garmin allows you to initiate DSC calls through the plotter, ie you can click on an AIS target and ring it up without touching the VHF.

Cheaper it may be but it doesn't offer half the functionality.

Swapping an 0183 transponder for a 2k one is a bit of an extravagance but it means that the only things going into the back of the 7012 will be power and NMEA2k
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.