Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 22 October 2006, 16:08   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Belfast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140 4/stroke
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 181
RIBase
Lowrance X58DF

Lowrance X58DF any views on this depth/fishfinder? £125.00 or is there better out there?
__________________

__________________
parm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2006, 16:56   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warrington/Anglesey
Make: Menai 480SR.
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsoooooooo 70hp
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 665
parm,

Yes I have got one and I have been verry happy with it. I picked it up in the USA just before xmas last year. It has not missed a beat!!

It is very user friendly with a decent quality screen. It has some great functions that you usually only see on more expensive units. The only problem that I have found is the paddle wheel speedo is rubbish over 20mph, this seems to be the case with most speedo's of this type.

I am currently refitting the unit to my new rib, but I will not bother with the paddle wheel speedo, as I now have GPS which will give me much better speed readings.

I would give the unit 9/10..
__________________

__________________
Yoyo.
---------------------------------------------------
life's full of ups "n" downs.
yoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2006, 17:01   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warrington/Anglesey
Make: Menai 480SR.
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsoooooooo 70hp
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 665
Parm,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	x58df .jpg
Views:	157
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	22740  
__________________
Yoyo.
---------------------------------------------------
life's full of ups "n" downs.
yoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2006, 17:14   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Belfast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140 4/stroke
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 181
RIBase
thanks for the info
not much interested in speed either i will use gps also
__________________
parm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2006, 17:29   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
I once had one of these. Very good at holding the depth and never, ever played up even when it got very wet. No screen misting or going crazy.

Also very well built with good plug connections. In my opinion far better than garmin. Although that is what i have now.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 October 2006, 17:36   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Belfast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140 4/stroke
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 181
RIBase
Just been looking at Lowrance X52 slightly lower spec - no speed 200khz instead of 50/200khz but does have NMEA 2000. As i also have a 3500c plotter i could link the two, but can anyone tell me why? why would i want to link them or am i missing something?
__________________
parm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 October 2006, 16:55   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
That NMEA connection is in case you have a monster NMEA 2000 display unit. You can take the info from your X52 and pump it over to the big screen, and display it there as well. As far as I know, there's not much more reason for the connection. No interfacing with GPS required, unless you're trapping depth readings cross referenced with GPS coordinates, or something along those lines.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 October 2006, 17:24   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Belfast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140 4/stroke
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 181
RIBase
thanks jyasaki thats what i thought
__________________
parm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2006, 06:54   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
The NMEA2000 issue is much wider than just linking units. Depending on the position of each unit you may want to overlay depth or speed on your sonar etc but its all about the wider network.

You can add further NMEA2K devices to the network and then have options on both displays to show the data. For example with the addition of a fuel flow sensor you can have a full fuel management system which can be displayed on either screen. The same will be the case very soon with engine interface (Suzuki first) where you will have options to display all the info via the engine command link such as Tacho, trim, oil pressure, temp, alternator voltage, engine diagnostics etc etc etc.

Two linked units gives you more screen options.

You could have one showing full map and the other all custom gauges and fuel info until you arrive at your location where you may then switch back to sonar only for fishing diving etc.

TT.
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.