Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 August 2014, 17:17   #1
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Lowrance Link 8 DSC fixed VHF

Hi all, have any of you had any dealings with the above radio? I can get one at a reasonable price (with the aid of a gift voucher on Amazon).

I'm thinking of getting one and building an N2K network to connect it to my Raymarine plotter - but I heard that the Link 8 had some issues getting GPS data from some Garmin plotters when it first came out. It seems that it was only reported a couple of years ago and I can't find any recent complaints so it is probably fixed.

I was wondering if anyone knew of any problems that might still be kicking around before I take the plunge?


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2014, 09:40   #2
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
I went into Marine Superstore yesterday to look at both the Lowrance Link 8 and the Garmin 200i.

The Garmin looked a bit "Tomy's My First Radio" and felt plasticky compared to the Lowrance. Plus the Lowrance has an AIS receiver built in so I've ordered the Link 8 with my Amazon voucher.

Looks like I'm going to be installing the aerial cable & radio this week then!


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 04:56   #3
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
I know this is quite a specific request, but I have the Icom M421 and I am thinking of replacing this with the Link 8 to refresh the comms and also get AIS data on my plotter.

Using the power of google it seems the M421 is bigger than the Link 8 so wont fit in the same hole - Anyone have any experience of this and the size of the outer 'lip' of the Link 8?

Link 8 Hole Dims
153 x 76

M421 Hole Dims
149 x 61.6
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 04:58   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Lowrance Link 8 DSC fixed VHF

Unless I'm missing summat Steve, the link 8 is bigger than the Icom


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 05:04   #5
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
OMG! cant believe that, I have both templates printed out and got them all confused!! Its one of them mornings!

2 weeks of very little sleep due to a new addition of the family!
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 05:28   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,926
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveHall View Post
OMG! cant believe that, I have both templates printed out and got them all confused!! Its one of them mornings!

2 weeks of very little sleep due to a new addition of the family!
I should put that holesaw away for a month or so, IIWY.
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 05:54   #7
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
The lip on the Link 8 is quite big, but be careful at the ends where the securing bolts go as the holes end up quite close to the cut-out for the main body. With the lip on it being so big they could have moved the securing bolts a little further away.

I fitted an N2K network, an antenna and ran the aerial, network and power cables, testing it all correct before cutting/fitting it into the console. After fitting it decided to give up the ghost by not switching on (despite power to it testing correct)! I've sent it back and I'm waiting for a replacement to arrive, so I haven't had chance to set it up and test it properly yet - all I have is a bunch of cables and a hole in the console!
__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2014, 11:51   #8
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Well I was a little undecided about what route to take (No AIS and stay as I am, The Link 8, or a full AIS Transponder) - but I have just ordered a Link 8 for delivery tomorrow. Ohh I will get in trouble tomorrow when that arrives!

Going to try and get this installed on Friday (after a good nights sleep)
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2014, 13:54   #9
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
Got my Link 8 and it all looks good, looks like a nice unit.

One problem I'm having - it seems to have a MMSI already!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1413482021.507908.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	99987

I am running it on a battery just to check it powered up OK - anyone know anything about this MMSI
__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2014, 15:35   #10
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
For the brief time mine worked it bleeped at me and the screen flashed saying no MMSI. Looks like you might have a factory repair unit? Go through the manual to try to add a MMSI but if you can't then it's a factory job to reset.


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.