Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 August 2013, 02:41   #1
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Ile de Re
Boat name: Re lax
Make: Piranha 6m
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 90 hp ETEC
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
RIBase
Lowrance HDS5 Gen 2 loss of GPS Signal

Since new my HDS5 Gen 2 loses GPS signal about 5 minutes after switching on. I either have to power off and on or do a factory reset to get the satellite signal back. Spoke to Lowrance tech staff who just said to do a software update which made no improvement.

Anybody experienced similar problems?
__________________

__________________
nigel52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2013, 08:18   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Putting my "eliminate possibilities" hat on, do you have / can you borrow a handheld that squirts out NMEA0183?

I have mine set up such that if I loose the main antenna through some random accident with the A- frame / cabling, I can dive into the console, do a quick re- patch & feed a lat / long into the plotter from my trusty Garmin 12.

Ok, you may need to muck about with choc blocks etc, but if you can feed it a signal from the 0183 in and it does the same thing than you know it's the plotter and not the antenna / cabling. (remember to disconnect the 2K antenna first or you may see some strange things on screen - unless the HDS can average thre two? )



Other thought - does this happen regardless of what you are doing? e.g sat in the marina for 5 mins vs <switch on - blast out & be doing 76 knots> or you always have to cruise down a river to get out & it always happens by the pub on the third bend every time kind of thing?

That might eliminate some form of signal jamming - whether it be a radar or an evil nerd. GPS signals are at best weak on a good day.....
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2013, 08:35   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Is it still under warranty? It can't be that old if it's a gen2.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 03:02   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: poole
Make: ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Get an external antenna, we have one on a 25ft powerboat and it the receiver built in cant maintain a fix unless you are stationary. We have been told by local suppliers that the buit in receivers and just useless.
__________________
ring20johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 03:46   #5
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Ile de Re
Boat name: Re lax
Make: Piranha 6m
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 90 hp ETEC
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ring20johnson View Post
Get an external antenna, we have one on a 25ft powerboat and it the receiver built in cant maintain a fix unless you are stationary. We have been told by local suppliers that the buit in receivers and just useless.
I think you must be correct about the built in aerial. A shame as I would have expected a built in one to be adequate. I know the Garman one works well on inbuilt aerial.

I will see about buying one - thank you for all replies.
__________________
nigel52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 03:47   #6
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Ile de Re
Boat name: Re lax
Make: Piranha 6m
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 90 hp ETEC
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 148
RIBase
Thanks I do have a GArman 12 but I am convinced the problem is the internal aerial is inadequate.
__________________
nigel52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 04:51   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Even better test - hook up the Garmin as a feed, leave it beside the Lowrance, & see what happens!

Remember with a Garmin 12 the tech inside the box is rapidly approaching it's 25th birthday, so will make an interesting comparison!


Also FWIW I had planned to get one with an internal antenna to reduce the wiring & A- frame clutter. Ended up with an external one, and as I then had an NMEA cable heading for the transom I thought it might as well multitask and I now have coolant pressure & cyl head temp on screen!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 05:15   #8
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Intresting, we have had two HDS10's both console mounted, using the internal Antenna they have never lost lock, always have a rock solid signal.
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 08:24   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
Intresting, we have had two HDS10's both console mounted, using the internal Antenna they have never lost lock, always have a rock solid signal.
Ditto with my gen2 HDS7.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2013, 10:29   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
Same for my HDS5 - THOUGH, I did have an issue from new in that the satellite acquisition was very very slow and poor on start up and it didnt seem to remember its last location - almanic issue
I spoke at length to Lowrance and tried various resets etc - and they then replaced with new. This is in console mounted using only the internal antenna and I have no lock or stability issues
Actually sent me an advance swap and no issues at all since. It is still not as quite to lock onto the satellites as my trusty Garmin292 though >>>> but better mapping and far superior sonar performance
I would call them
Jeff
__________________

__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.