Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 June 2008, 03:47   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Arklow
Boat name: Girl Eimear
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha me421 Sterndr
MMSI: 250001196
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Lowrance GPS Advice Please

Hi there,

My Lowrance GPS Plotter LC 16X ci has recently developed a fault. The screen displays vertical lines when powered up. Removing the Navionics chart has no effect. The unit acquires position and uploads to DSC unit as normal. I have checked connections and they look clean and dry.

I'm hoping someone can help me solve this problem.

Eugene

www.arklowseatours.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPS.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	35517  
__________________

__________________
Eugene Wixted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2008, 06:21   #2
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Eugene,

The Lowrance man at the new repair agent is;

TIM DAVIES
NAVICO UK LTD
PREMIER WAY,
ABBEY PARK,
ROMSEY,
HANTS,
SO51 9DH

HTH?
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2008, 11:01   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Definitely looks like a display (rather than electronics) problem.

Warranty is valid, I hope?


jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2008, 18:05   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Eugene

Do the lines move or are they stationary?

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2008, 14:41   #5
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Arklow
Boat name: Girl Eimear
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha me421 Sterndr
MMSI: 250001196
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks for the info.

jky
Unfortunately the warranty has lapsed.

TT
The lines are stationary. There are multi coloured lines in between the black lines. This may not be clear in the photo. The Lowrance website indicates possible electrical interference as a probable cause but no other equipment has been installed or removed since the problem occurred. When this unit alone is switched on the lines are on the display so I'm not sure if it is interference that is to blame.
Some time ago on a few occasions this fault occurred after starting up normally. More recently the unit ran without fault and now the display shows only the lines.

Eugene
__________________
Eugene Wixted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2008, 18:08   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Eugene

Not good news I'm afraid. That's pixels going out on the display. You'll need to replace it.

I think the LCX-16's were manufactured in 2001/02 so I guess its going to be a complete new system.

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2008, 02:06   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texel Tom View Post
Eugene

Not good news I'm afraid. That's pixels going out on the display. You'll need to replace it.
Tom: No offense, but it's not. Pixels going out would cause a single spot, or multiple random spots that either don;t light up, or light up too much.

That pattern is symptomatic of the display driver circuitry going bad. However, since the display unit is most likely a single-sourced unit, the result is probably the same.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2008, 02:33   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
jky: absolutely no problem. Thanks for the correction. Perhaps I should have said the display's knackered!

rgds

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2008, 06:15   #9
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Arklow
Boat name: Girl Eimear
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha me421 Sterndr
MMSI: 250001196
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Looks like I will have to reach for the chequebook yet again!!!

Is there a current replacement unit that can use the existing antenna and transducer? It would be very difficult to route new cables etc.
Would a used display unit of the same manufacture date be prone to the same fault? Is the display failure age related or due to its location and use?

Thanks

Eugene
__________________
Eugene Wixted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2008, 18:30   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Unfortunately none of the current units in either the Lowrance or Eagle can utilise both your GPS module and transducer. The module (LGC-12) is used currently in the Eagle range badged EGC-12 but the transducer is no longer used.

One option would be to go for an Eagle combo unit like the Fish Elite 640C which has the same module and get an adapter to convert your grey(?) transducer plug to black. It's the same frequency 200kHz.

Alternatively both these components were last used together in the LCX-19C which was manufactured up to 2004 and this may be your best option if you can find one.

TT
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.