Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 March 2007, 12:03   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wickham
Boat name: Aries IV
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 250
MMSI: 235036477
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
Lowrance GlobalMap 3500C

I thought I should mention this, as it may save some fellow RIBnet participants a few moments of concern ...

I updated the software in my back-up system yesterday, using the December download from the Lowrance US website.

I was a little alarmed when I replaced the Navionics card and found that my local area was nowhere to be seen!

On checking the manual at home today, it looks like I need to tell the GlobalMap which charts I am using, otherwise it is almost certainly looking for a Lowrance chart. I suspect that the update restored default settings for everything.

Hopefully, this is easily resolved - what a pity that my boat is 100 miles from home!


Chris.
__________________

__________________
Chris Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2007, 13:37   #2
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Tobermory, Canada eh
Boat name: Verius
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 590
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,345
Send a message via MSN to Stoo
Thanks for the "heads up"... I was planning on doing the upgrade on my LCX 25C first thing in the spring...

Did it overwrite your waypoints and so on? I am so afraid of loosing mine, that I bought an iFinder just so I can back them up there!

Sorry for your aggravation!
__________________

__________________
Pump it up and RIDE!

www.wetspotimages.com
Stoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2007, 14:37   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wickham
Boat name: Aries IV
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 250
MMSI: 235036477
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
Hi Stoo,

Initially, I tried to zoom in but the display showed "overzoomed" in the top corner of the screen. That is when I realised that it was not my local chart but the inbuilt one.

It looks like the waypoints are OK, as they appeared to be present on the built-in chart. However, I cannot be certain until I can select the correct chart, which probably won't be for about 10 days, so I hope that another RIBnetter might be able to confirm this for you in the meantime.

Either way, it looks like your "iFinder" will provide a useful back-up.

Regards,

Chris.
__________________
Chris Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2007, 18:27   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 380
Hi Chris,

That's good info as I was about to update mine! I'll make sure I backup as many if the settings I can before installing the update. Hopefully this can be done to an MMC as it's taken long enough to get all of the screens layed out right! Time to read the manual I guess.....

Al.
__________________
al40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2007, 22:30   #5
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Tobermory, Canada eh
Boat name: Verius
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 590
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,345
Send a message via MSN to Stoo
Now there's a novel concept!

Quote:
Originally Posted by al40 View Post
Time to read the manual I guess.....
Nah... Real men don't read manuals! I find it's way better to screw up the thingy then spend hours/days trying to get it back to normal... Fortunately for me, in the mean-time, by better half will have found the pristine manual, and underlined the pertinent paragraphs, so that when I re-do whatever it was that I screwed up in the first place, I'll do it right!
__________________
Pump it up and RIDE!

www.wetspotimages.com
Stoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2007, 12:08   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoo View Post
I find it's way better to screw up the thingy then spend hours/days trying to get it back to normal...

Wait a minute... There's some other way of doing things????

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2007, 17:53   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wickham
Boat name: Aries IV
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 250
MMSI: 235036477
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
It works!

I can confirm that if you select the correct Navionics chart, everything comes back as before. Wayppoints and routes look OK too.

Regards,

Chris.
__________________

__________________
Chris Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.