Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 May 2005, 05:53   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Lowrance Global Map 2000

I've got one of these that was fitted when I bought the boat, but the screen is now completely knacked with hundreds of vertical lines on it . As I only really used it as a back up and it has a DGPS and Sounder fitted to it I was wondering if anyone knew if any of the new displays would work with the existing Lowrance DGPS and Sounder?, or any one with a 2000 for sale.
I have had a quote from Silva to service exchange at 300, and may have to go down this route as I dont want to be pulling in more cables and cutting more holes in the consol.
Andy
__________________

__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2005, 06:32   #2
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Andy, my Lowrance LMS350a has also developed this fault over the winter. However its is only intermitent (sometimes booting up with a clear display and since it is fixed in the console I am going to put up with it for the moment as you can still read the screen.

Pete
__________________

__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2005, 04:32   #3
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Brisbane
Boat name: Rogue
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 90 ELPTO
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Try a reset first

Gday guys,

I spent a few years as a techo for Lowrance here in Oz, and a few of that series of units had LCD pack fail. Sometimes though, a master reset will sort the problem - give it a go. Instructions aren't in the book, but try this -
1. Turn the unit OFF
2. Press and hold down the CLR key while powering the unit ON
3. Hold down both PWR key and CLR key until the splash screen with the warning comes up then let them both go.

If that doesn't solve it, it an LCD fail, and will need to be repaired. Lowrance in the US doesn't support them anymore, but I've got parts for them here in Brisbane, so maybe the UK distributor can still fix them. Hope this helps.
Chris
__________________
bandf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2005, 04:50   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Thanks for that I'll give a go, but to be honest it looks terminal
Andy
__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2005, 04:36   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 693
Hi Andy
I still have the Lowrance unit that was on SeaShell when you sold her to me.
Thats a 2000 from memory, I stripped it out as the GPS Antenna didn't work, but the rest did. I also had a replacement colour plotter already.Make me an mutualaly acceptable offer and I will send it up.
Rgds
James
__________________
Jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.