Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 June 2008, 06:23   #1
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Lowrance EP10 Fuel Flow Transducer

Finally got it tested this weekend, it works very well. Only one problem I cant work out how to take fuel out of a "tank" if I need to. Does anyone know how to do this?
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2008, 16:42   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Simon - practically I don't think you can. If you take fuel out other than through the FF sensor then you'll need to re-fill completely and select 'Fill Tank'

TT

PS. Don't forget to use the calibrate option the first two or three times you fill with fuel and it will be bang on thereafter.
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2008, 07:20   #3
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Cheers Texel Tom,

I've been off Ribnet for a while busy with other things. Looks like we will need to devise a way of operating our system whereby when we fuel it is only ever to fill the tanks completely each time we fuel up.

I'm quite impressed with it so far and will publish some stats for our engine when colated.
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2008, 08:53   #4
Member
 
Country: Switzerland
Town: Villars
Boat name: Tally-Ho
Make: Scorpion
Length: 9m +
Engine: Merc Optimax 300xs
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
We've also got one of these and to be honest I don't ever bother with that option.
What we do is reset the fuel used trip (and all the others)after each fill up and that has proved to be accurate to within a couple of litres from what it says on the screen to actually what we can get into the tank.

The instant fuel usage readout does make you slow down a bit !

Steve.
__________________
SteveB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2008, 11:16   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Steve, If you use the 'Economy' option rather than fuel rate then you'll find your most fuel efficient operation over speed/distance.

Set it up as a slider on the screen and play around until it fills right up!

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2008, 06:50   #6
Member
 
Country: Switzerland
Town: Villars
Boat name: Tally-Ho
Make: Scorpion
Length: 9m +
Engine: Merc Optimax 300xs
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks TT i'll try it when next on the boat. The simultor doesn't show the EP-10 sensor.

Thanks

Steve.
__________________

__________________
SteveB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.