Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 October 2014, 05:36   #1
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Lowrance Elite NMEA input?

Anybody got any experience of NMEA INPUT on the lowrance elite 5? It looks from the manual that it isn't possible but I'm sure i've seen somewhere that it is possible. Basically, I was going to go for a Standard Horizon GX1600 and wanted to output the DSC positions to the plotter as I'll be out with other boats fairly regularly. Does anybody know if this is possible?

Other options would be to get the Garmin Echomap 50 DV which takes a NMEA input but doesn't have the dual sonar function. Second option is to get a lowrance link 8 radio and elite 7 fish finder and set up a NMEA 200 network. Obviously this will cost a good few hundred quid more and is probably a little overkill for my needs. Any thoughts on the above would be appreciated.

Phil M
__________________

__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2014, 05:57   #2
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
If this is any help to you?
We have the Garmin 551 chartplotter connected to a Standard Horizon 1500e
The connections go........Dsc radio-grey to the brown on gps. Dsc blue to blue on gps. Dsc green to black on gps.

weird I know, but it works giving data to the radio etc.

Hope this may be very similar to your wire colours?
Cheers-John
__________________

__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2014, 06:12   #3
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Is the communication 2 way? Can DSC targets be sent to display on the plotter?

Thanks,

Phil M
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2014, 11:27   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Don't know about Elite units, but the Lowrance LMS-32x/52x units would not. The Elite 5 does not support NMEA 2000, so I would assume it wouldn't, either.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2015, 14:31   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lincoln
Boat name: Logan Charles
Make: SR5.4 &AvonTyphoon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 75, Merc 25
MMSI: pm me..
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
How did you get on regarding elite 5 mated to a SH gx1600 Phil?
Ive got the radio, just looking for the right plotter that will work and in my budget!
__________________
darren moom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2015, 14:42   #6
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Not at all actually. I went for the garmin echomap 50dv and lowrance link 8 in the end as i couldn't seem to do what i wanted on the other setup. All zigns look ok so far but i haven't had fhe setup ojt on the water yet. I have got the gps position to the radio and should get dsc and ais targets from the radio to show on the gps.

Ill post a pic when i get to sea.

Phil M
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2015, 15:01   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lincoln
Boat name: Logan Charles
Make: SR5.4 &AvonTyphoon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 75, Merc 25
MMSI: pm me..
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
nice one mate!
__________________
darren moom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 March 2015, 16:37   #8
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Finally got the boat out for the first time. The gps and ais worked very well together and the ais targets displayed on the plotter. I was able to get the full vessel data up on the plotter screen. No photos I'm afraid. Forgot the camera.

Phil
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2015, 14:59   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lincoln
Boat name: Logan Charles
Make: SR5.4 &AvonTyphoon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 75, Merc 25
MMSI: pm me..
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 42
ive now got the elite 7m and is paired succesfully to the standard h gx1600. plenty more work before mine is on the sea...but im still confident that this summer!
__________________

__________________
darren moom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.