Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 January 2016, 13:13   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
......the other option would be to read the manual ;-)

Nah! Instructions are for people who don't know what they're doing😄
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 January 2016, 13:19   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Exactly my wife's point when I am assembling Ikea furniture for her. I've explained that I'm trying to create art.... doesn't wash.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ikea_13_11_2.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	110529  
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 February 2016, 08:24   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
The GPS is in the unit. It should find you wherever you are but it can take a few minutes to register all the relevant satellites. It probably won't work indoors...
My LM420 works inside my "house roof" style garage! (granted with 1/2 mile or so error, but I get a signal!) If you are indoors and first switch - on I'd leave it by the window as mine even knowing where it was can take a good few mins to figure out it hasn't moved if , for example I am using it to check a tide or something.

But any "cold start" on a GPS takes a good few mins as the reciever has a load of info do download off the satellites before the position signals make any sense to it. Once that is done the almanac is in memory and it' s a relatively simple case of find satellites, get signals & do the maths. WhenI took my Garmn handheld abroad it took a good 15 mins to figure out where it was.



Back to the maps, assuming a similar setup o nthe new ones to my old LM if you dive into the "maps - setup" menu, you have to select the one you want to use. (may have renamed it since mine was built) If you had bought the "UK" navonics gold you would see a list of areas to choose from.

Also it will normally show its last known position. If, however, you have scrolled the map you may need to press"exit" to get back to your "live" position.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 February 2016, 12:52   #14
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Later Lowrance units have it under Chart Info or Chart Data.

Not sure if it's the same on the Elite line, but on the smaller HDS units, it's Menu, Menu, Chart, Chart Data, [select source].

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2016, 03:09   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,573
there's also lots of info under support in short video's failing that drop lowrance uk an e-mail very helpfull.
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2016, 14:14   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90 Etec
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 22
You do have to select your chart in the settings.
__________________
Newto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2016, 10:00   #17
Member
 
steco1958's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Bromwich
Boat name: Ellie V
Make: Excel Voyager 520
Length: 5m +
Engine: Evinrude 75 HP
MMSI: 235 908 287
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Exactly my wife's point when I am assembling Ikea furniture for her. I've explained that I'm trying to create art.... doesn't wash.

Don't see anything wronk there !!
__________________

__________________
steco1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.