Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 July 2018, 07:28   #1
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 90
Lowrance 3G Radar Overlay Invalid

I have a Lowrance 3G Radar hooked upto HDS9 and HDS7 Gen 3 Plotters, with an Evinrude Point 1 on a NMEA2000 network. I canít get the radar to overlay and constantly get the ďradar overlay invalidĒ message.

One suggestion reading the various blogs is that the Evinrude Point 1 does not have the heading functionality of the Lowrance Point 1 which is the cause of the issue.

Can anyone confirm this and also if I was to swap the Evinrude for a Lowrance Point 1 whether this would a cause any issues with the engine set-up?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2018, 07:56   #2
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,792
RIBase
I'm using HDS Gen 1 and Gen 2 with Lowrance 3G radar and a Point-1.

Firstly - I can't imagine the Evinrude labelled kit is much different from the Lowrance version. The Icon system needs NMEA2000 GPS data - it should work with ANY NMEA2000 source, surely?

Overlay. Both of your MFDs are supplying GPS data to the network, as well as the Point-1. Have you set the primary network data source as the Point-1? A good test would be to check if the boat icon (arrow) on the MDFs reflect the direction the boat is facing when at rest or drifting, rather than the direction of travel.
I recall the radar being fairly fiddly to set up initially. Once operational, it required calibration as the entire display was almost 180 degrees off true. The Point 1 likely will require calibration at sea also. I think neither calibration process should affect the overlay function - just that the results would be off.
__________________

__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2018, 08:04   #3
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
I'm using HDS Gen 1 and Gen 2 with Lowrance 3G radar and a Point-1.

Firstly - I can't imagine the Evinrude labelled kit is much different from the Lowrance version. The Icon system needs NMEA2000 GPS data - it should work with ANY NMEA2000 source, surely?

Overlay. Both of your MFDs are supplying GPS data to the network, as well as the Point-1. Have you set the primary network data source as the Point-1? A good test would be to check if the boat icon (arrow) on the MDFs reflect the direction the boat is facing when at rest or drifting, rather than the direction of travel.
I recall the radar being fairly fiddly to set up initially. Once operational, it required calibration as the entire display was almost 180 degrees off true. The Point 1 likely will require calibration at sea also. I think neither calibration process should affect the overlay function - just that the results would be off.


Thanks for your reply - I read somewhere that the Evinrude Point 1 has limited functionality. It is showing up on the NMEA2000 network although Iím not sure it is the primary network data source - Iíll check later! When Iím on a mooring the arrow does not reflect the direction the boat is facing so maybe this is the issue?

As regards the radar it works independently and is accurate, but I just canít get the overlay working. All the kit is updated with the latest software etc..
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2018, 08:26   #4
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,792
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
When Iím on a mooring the arrow does not reflect the direction the boat is facing so maybe this is the issue?
That does sound like you're not using the Point 1 data on the MFDs. For the radar image to be correctly overlaid, the system will need to know what direction the boat is pointing.
__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2018, 08:32   #5
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 90
Iíll check that later and let you know - cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2018, 13:05   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: CA
Make: Zodiac RIB-P
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 250
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,195
I have the lowrance point 1 and a hds gen 2 touch. I get the invalid overlay after a period of time using the system. Seems to be an ongoing issue over the years. Iíve seen it blamed on many things including faulty point 1ís
__________________
Bigtalljv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 August 2018, 17:59   #7
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 90
Managed to sort the issue. The Point 1 I had was an Evinrude variant without compass or heading information. Replaced it with a Lowrance Point 1, calibrated it and. Radar Overlay now working beautifully!
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2018, 05:14   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,235
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
Managed to sort the issue. The Point 1 I had was an Evinrude variant without compass or heading information. Replaced it with a Lowrance Point 1, calibrated it and. Radar Overlay now working beautifully!


There was a firmware update for the point 1 issued soon after it was launched. I wonder if you could flash the Evinrude variant with the proper point1 firmware? Worth a try.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×