Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 April 2010, 14:15   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Near Godalming
Boat name: AJA
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F150AETX
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 558
Lowrance 3500c problems

A mate of mine has a Lowrance Global Map 3500c on his boat that is misbehaving. It seems to have lost the GPS signal and has been told that the system needs a software update.

Where to start?!

Firstly where do you find the cables to hook up (and power) this unit to enable a PC to communicate with it? I've been Googling for a while without success.

Secondly how is the update actually done?

It seems extremely complicated, but perhaps someone here might reassure me that it's not.
__________________

__________________
neilda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2010, 15:17   #2
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
No cables needed, go to the lowrance site, then to downloads locate the update for 3500c & antenna down load these to a SD card (NOT the one with charts on) Then place the card in the 3500 power up , upload shold start.
Job done.. Simples !!!
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2010, 15:19   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
jambo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Girvan & Tayvallich
Boat name: Breawatch
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 F/stroke
MMSI: ex directory!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,789
RIBase
Hi neil
I had the same problem with mine end of last year would not switch off. Got it checked over by electronics company and it is ok now. Yes take point re upgrade but there also could be a problem with his ariel or his cable and connections.
Hope this helps.
J
__________________
jambo
'Carpe Diem'
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
Member of SABS ( Scottish West Division)
jambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 April 2010, 03:27   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Near Godalming
Boat name: AJA
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F150AETX
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
No cables needed, go to the lowrance site, then to downloads locate the update for 3500c & antenna down load these to a SD card (NOT the one with charts on) Then place the card in the 3500 power up , upload shold start.
Job done.. Simples !!!
Excellent - thanks for that.

Will also check all connections.
__________________
neilda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.