Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 December 2014, 12:44   #1
Member
 
Adam and Hayley's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicestershire
Boat name: Bathtub
Make: Humber Ocean Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Looking to add accurate nmea200 fuel senders to a garmin 4010

I've looked at the offshore senders. They look pretty gorgeous and also a 3 year old thread here about problems getting them to red but can you guys recommend any others or have any experience with these senders.

I'm trying to de-clutter my dash and also get ACCURATE fuel readings. To confuse matters my current analogue gauges and senders are different: one reads increasing ohm resistance and the other decreasing (I hope that makes sense)
__________________

__________________
Adam and Hayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 12:50   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
You can only have one gauge connected to a fuel sender... If you have two then it would explain your current issues.

Tank Fuel senders are marginal at best in terms of accuracy. However Lowrance and Garmin do NMEA converters to take the analogue signal from a tank sender and turn it into a digital NMEA signal.

What engine do you have? Does it provide NMEA fuel flow data ?
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 12:57   #3
Member
 
Adam and Hayley's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicestershire
Boat name: Bathtub
Make: Humber Ocean Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
2 tanks 2gauges and 2 senders.
The engine's a 2005 honda150
I guess I can just "estimate" the fuel before I start off and let the 4010 do the rest?
__________________
Adam and Hayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 13:03   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Looking to add accurate nmea200 fuel senders to a garmin 4010

Do you get fuel data from the engine ?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 13:10   #5
Member
 
Adam and Hayley's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicestershire
Boat name: Bathtub
Make: Humber Ocean Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Don't know yet!

Treated myself to the screen
Bought the engine nmea cable

But the boat's 230 miles away
That'd be one loooong cable!
Current honda manual says it is nmea2000 incl. fuel used info but I'll have to wait until after Xmas to check (when Im up there next)
__________________
Adam and Hayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 13:11   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
If not then lowrance and garmin do inline fuel senders that will give fuel usuage data that can be fed into NMEA gauges or a plotter. It's then a case of setting up your plotter to measure fuel used against fuel at start
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2014, 13:13   #7
Member
 
Adam and Hayley's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicestershire
Boat name: Bathtub
Make: Humber Ocean Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 150
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 108
Ok.
Thanks Chris
__________________
Adam and Hayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 December 2014, 04:59   #8
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
I've got a pair of the Offshore Systems N2k senders on my mobo. I read them generally on a GMI 10 display but it's shared all round the network, there's a fuel page on the plotter as well.

Easy enough to fit, just need to know the bolt pattern type on your tank fitting. No issues setting them up or getting them working on the network.

Bought a lot of their stuff over the years and can't moan about any of it
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.