Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 May 2007, 16:07   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Long shot

Long shot but has any one connected a Garmin 178 to a M-Tech mt-500 DSC radio.Having problems with the radio picking up the position. IF not does anyone have a contact for M-TECH in the UK can only find a Japan one.
__________________

__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2007, 16:21   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Afraid not but try swopping the 2 gps wires around - Navman have marked them wrong in some destruction leaflets - could be the same problem with yours? Also check the nmea outputs of your Garmin - they have a few different versions.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2007, 19:12   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Do you have a diagram of what is coming out of each item? I know I had some issues with my Garmin and Icom that the book didn't help with.
Looking at the web on your radio you must have two NMEA pairs for input and output, does the 178 have two outputs/inputs?
Try this, obviously ignore the sounder part off the second channel and make sure your GPS output is set for NMEA @ 4800baud (I think) This certainly worked on my similiar setup with a Garmin plotter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring.JPG
Views:	125
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	26479  
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2007, 02:49   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Thanks gents run out of light last night will try again to night. Bruce I have the plotter drawing and went with that but no joy. Will try and track down the VHF people today
__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2007, 02:50   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Out of the factory all Garmin outputs are set to "Garmin" data and not "NMEA".
If you have not already you will need to change this in the menu or the radio will not display Lat and Long.

Hope that helps
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2007, 04:13   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Thanks for the the posts and PMs have also spoken to Garmin now and all looks to be working as of last night. The drawing was not very clear but there tech support was better.
__________________

__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.