Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 February 2013, 04:03   #41
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Carpe Diem
Make: Ribeye 650S
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 547
Hi, thanks for the replies and I apologise in advance for being thick!

I would like to use an iPad with navionics for navigation but I also want to know what the actual water depth is directly under the boat at that point I time and therefore do not want to rely on a GPS position and approxiamiation!

I think from every bodies response above I will therefore need to purchase a seperate depth transducer and screen read out as an IPAD with Navionics will not have this capability.

Thanks everybody for your responses
__________________

__________________
whackywoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 04:09   #42
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
I have the Navionics app on my iPad (no SIM version) and the app only works when I'm in wireless coverage.


I was under the impression that you need cell coverage to get full advantage of the app?
__________________

__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 04:29   #43
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
I have the Navionics app on my iPad (no SIM version) and the app only works when I'm in wireless coverage.

I was under the impression that you need cell coverage to get full advantage of the app?
My ipad is 3G with sim, but it still worked half way across the channel with no service, it would be pointless buying a navionics package that would only work when you have cell coverage, I'll check with navionics but I think I'm right
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 04:34   #44
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Been through the menu and there is no mention of cell cover just GPS
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 05:32   #45
Member
 
ppenman's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wickford, Essex
Boat name: Wanderer
Make: Ribeye, Zodiac FR
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha F300, 25 2S
MMSI: 235095667
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 219
For ipad 2 & 3 if you don't have a 3G iPad you will only get a gps fix if

A) you're connected to wifi (not very useful at sea)
B) you're. connected to a GPS receiver. This is what I do.

However, I'm not sure about the ipad4 or mini.
__________________
ppenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 06:27   #46
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppenman View Post
For ipad 2 & 3 if you don't have a 3G iPad you will only get a gps fix if

A) you're connected to wifi (not very useful at sea)
B) you're. connected to a GPS receiver. This is what I do.

However, I'm not sure about the ipad4 or mini.
Exactly the same.

iPad/iPhone may be useful as an emergency backup - but with all the extra bits you need to make them suitable for sustained use it's cheaper & more effective to have a dedicated built in plotter & if necessary a hand held backup. iPhones/iPads are far too fragile for serious use in a marine/rib environment. Fabulous as they both are they are not 'all things to all men' - it's horses for courses, I say.
__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 06:54   #47
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
I agree with that but you're assuming that we're all bouncing around on ribs, it's a very good back up for all the other boats that I get on, as you get the same package on your iPhone by default that's good too, my ipad and iphone goes with me most places, certainly when I'm in France or out on a boat, have waterproof bags for both of them, you may think that this is sad but if you use them to there full potential they are a good tool, I book flights, marinas, buy on eBay, email, bill jobs, do all my paper from anywhere, I can even print at home when I'm away, they are a good tool
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 07:29   #48
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 541
Thats why I said 'marine/rib' - In larger cabin equipped boats it may be a different tale. But hey this id Ribnet and there are not that many cabin ribs here (I know you have one of them!)
__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 09:06   #49
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
I use on this as well
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1110178847.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	265.9 KB
ID:	76352  
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 February 2013, 11:20   #50
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
I have the Navionics app on my iPad (no SIM version) and the app only works when I'm in wireless coverage.


I was under the impression that you need cell coverage to get full advantage of the app?
Let's be clear on this - you don't have a GPS built in to your IPAD!!!!!

The only way you can get any sort of position is by seeing different telephone masts and the Ipad works out where it is from them - not from a GPS. There are some 3rd party Bluetooth GPS units that you can buy which will give you very good position information - I would even think about trying to use your Ipad for navigation except in a dire emergency!

If you have bought the Ipad with WiFi and 3g you would have a GPS like Biffer.
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.