Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 August 2006, 07:43   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: no boat
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 332
Intermittent Garmin problem

Intermittent Garmin problem

Hi folks just experienced a problem with my chart plotter itís the Garmin 2010 I was going along the other day and I suddenly received an error message on the plotter telling me the satellite signal from the antenna had been lost no satellite signal being received I had just come through some rough water so immediately thought something had shook loose a wire had come of but when I powered the unit down and started it back up again it was working fine.
This happened again later on but after pressing the enter button to acknowledge the error message the fault seemed to clear about thirty seconds later.
Next day while using the boat the fault reoccurred about three or four times but on occasion we were moving slowly in flat calm water we then took the boat into Tobermory for about four hours when using it to go down the sound of Mull back to Oman the unit behaved perfectly even when going through rough water boat slamming everywhere.
The next day I used the boat all day with no problems the fault never reoccurred so I was wondering if anyone has had a similar problem or can shed any light on the subject because itís a bit concerning to say the least I donít know if I still have a loose wire situation or if the satellite signal can just be lost on occasion many thanks
Milan.
__________________

__________________
Milan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 08:56   #2
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Yep had the same fault, the ariel BMC type cable fitting turned out to be loose. Very gently squeezed the female connector so it now grips the male connector on the back of the unit. That was 2 months ago and not had a repeat of the problem since. Also noticed that my Garmin 188 didn't like less than 11.2 volts and an alarm would beep. Rewired it to run straight from 24 volts (manual says max is 36 volts) and again problem solved.

Pete
__________________

__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 09:25   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I don't think the 2010 has BNC connectors for the aerial. I think it's the same as my 2006 which has a 5 wire connection from aerial into GPS. I had this happen once when I crashed off a big wave and made the whole boat judder, but that was some years ago the unit has been faultless ever since.

If it's not a wiring problem I'd send it back to garmin to have a look. They are superb with returns. Chances are it's an internal problem, loose circuit board or the like.

Keith
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 10:28   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: no boat
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7
Yep had the same fault, the ariel BMC type cable fitting turned out to be loose. Very gently squeezed the female connector so it now grips the male connector on the back of the unit. That was 2 months ago and not had a repeat of the problem since. Also noticed that my Garmin 188 didn't like less than 11.2 volts and an alarm would beep. Rewired it to run straight from 24 volts (manual says max is 36 volts) and again problem solved.

Pete
Thanks for that Pete7 but it sounds like yours is a differant system to mine
__________________
Milan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 11:04   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: no boat
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin
I don't think the 2010 has BNC connectors for the aerial. I think it's the same as my 2006 which has a 5 wire connection from aerial into GPS. I had this happen once when I crashed off a big wave and made the whole boat judder, but that was some years ago the unit has been faultless ever since.

If it's not a wiring problem I'd send it back to garmin to have a look. They are superb with returns. Chances are it's an internal problem, loose circuit board or the like.

Keith
Your quite right it does have a five wire connection keith thank you for the advice
__________________
Milan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Smartcraft | Top | Ais »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.