Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 22 November 2006, 15:52   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Talking of twin batteries I undertsnad they are required for MCA coding - but do they actually specify the size? I have a huger battery box - can I just stick 2 smaller batteries in there???
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 November 2006, 16:14   #12
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by al40 View Post
What you cannot and must not do is turn off both batteries (even momentarily) whilst engine is running... The alternator produces rectified DC but it's a nasty waveform that the battery supresses.
Very true.

Be aware, however, that some engines have a spare wire in the harness for a "field disconnect", which essentially kills the alternator output while active. Marrying that with an appropriate battery switch will allow you to turn both batteries off while the motor is running (but not for long; no DC output, no power for the motor.) Intended, I believe, for switching through settings (i.e. from "1" through "off" to "2" for example.

I believe my F115 lacks this, but many motors do incorporate it. Would be a good thing to utilize, even if your switch is configured to avoid it, just in case some curious passenger decides to play.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 November 2006, 17:59   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Very true.

Be aware, however, that some engines have a spare wire in the harness for a "field disconnect", which essentially kills the alternator output while active. Marrying that with an appropriate battery switch will allow you to turn both batteries off while the motor is running (but not for long; no DC output, no power for the motor.) Intended, I believe, for switching through settings (i.e. from "1" through "off" to "2" for example.

jky
Interesting! I assume that's where the regulator will be connected. I guess that some engines will disable the alternator via field coils when starter is spinning to reduce engine load. I just know if I connected a switch to that wire I'd forget to re-enable it sooner or later :-(
__________________

__________________
al40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.