Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 December 2007, 17:41   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
In well transducers

I have purchased a Garmin 340C for the hull I am awaiting. It comes with a transom monted transducer but I would like a Hull mounted one
The only place to put on in a Humber is inside the well right in front of the outboard. Will the turbulance cause any problems with the prop and/or will I get good performance mounted within six inches of the hull edge with the transducer?
My intention would be to drill a hole at the front of the well and sikafix the transducer into the hull unless this is a bad idea for performance etc.
The transducer sticks down about an inch as far as I can see from photos which slightly worries me.....

Or are the thru hull versions OK for this application?
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 04:56   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: West of Scotland
Make: humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 92
transducer

Hi Bruce, I'm not up on the technicalities, but; in several sailing boats that I've owned/ used; I've mounted through hull transducers inside; putting them into 'oil filled sealed tubes'- putting some form of access/screw thread at the top so I can get to the transducer if needed, and glassed/oil proof fastened the tube to the inside of the hull ; castor oil being very suitable; tends to buy the local pharmacy out of the oil!- the results have always been good, barring the one where I had a oil leak; the basic funcion being that it will work through the liquid and hull, but not through air- I'm sure someone will be along with a more technical answer; or explain to me why this will not work in a RIB, but it has saved drilling more holes in boats in the past.
__________________
eilean mor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 05:28   #3
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I know of a few people on RIBnet that have silkaflexed their transom mounted transducers into the hull. I would do a search as there are a few threads on the subject. What you don't want are air bubbles or pockets between the transducer and outer hull, this will stop the transducer from working.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 07:23   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
It is more the position that I am curious about. I understand the technicalities of how to mount them it is really just will the tranducer and outboard interfere with each other mounted as they are so close to each other.
Anybody got a transducer mounted in the well that works OK?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 08:17   #5
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I can't see why it would interfere any more in the well than sitting closer to the outboard on the transom! Unless you had an inboard, which your profile suggests you haven't got.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 08:30   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
It is more the position that I am curious about. I understand the technicalities of how to mount them it is really just will the tranducer and outboard interfere with each other mounted as they are so close to each other.
Anybody got a transducer mounted in the well that works OK?
Use your supplied Garmin transducer in the well using a big dod of silicon...without air bubbles. Chock it or tape it to keep it steady while the silicon cures.
On my destroyer, I mounted it slightly to the side because there is also a drain bung in the centre of the well. I originally used to make a resin wedge cast into the well with the transducer set into the top of it but it's unnecessary, the silicon does the job fine. I didn't/don't experience any turbulence problems.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 09:39   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Cheers, thats what I was thinking and just wanted to be sure before putting it in or drilling any holes.
I would rather have it in the well than mounted on the transom where it is slightly more vulnerable and causes a minor amount of drag. That may be worth 0.000001 mpg!
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2007, 17:35   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth Harbour
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 175
in our uni ribcraft 4.8, ribcraft mounted a through hull transducer in the well, so i cant see there being any issue there. We have never had any problems.
__________________
Rich
RYA Powerboat Instructor, RYA PWC Instructor, RYA Dinghy Instructor

Davies Coaching
laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2007, 01:38   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego.California
Boat name: Bayshots
Make: XS-550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF90
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 876
Bruce,
I did what you are suggesting and have had good results so far
Photos below,

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...ght=transducer
cheers Dal
__________________
www.Bayshots.com
limeydal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2007, 05:38   #10
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Don't worry turbulence from the prop doesn't go forwards except when you're going in reverse.
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.