Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 December 2007, 05:45   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I actually meant turbulence from an in hull transducer causing cavitation due to the disturbed water flow over the transducer being drawn through the prop.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2007, 06:29   #12
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
I actually meant turbulence from an in hull transducer causing cavitation due to the disturbed water flow over the transducer being drawn through the prop.
I see - I would go with the suggestions of mounting it inside the hull and not bother with making a hole - they usually work at least as well anyway! Whilst I have never used this method I have experience using sounders mounted like this and they work very well with no holes!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2007, 16:03   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Length: 4m +
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,916
Just trying to sort out my own transducer . I got the transom mounted one as it can also be mounted in hull.

Its not an easy thing to know you have got it right having never fitted one before .
I tie wrapped it to a pole and held it over the side at slow speed so i knew what to expect as a baseline . Problem is mounting the thing temporarily on or in the boat to test it .
I like the silicone idea as its easy enough to peel it out again.
I was also told to stick it in a big dollop of vaseline to find the right place inside the hull ??

Two things Iam not sure about are
1 does the transom mount tranducer have to face as if it were mounted on the transom , because if I fitted it inside it would be better reversed and maybe screwed to the inside of the transom with the base set in silicone

2 At what speed can I expect the sounder to work at , obviously in calm water as i expect as soon as the boat starts bouncing off waves its pretty useless anyway
__________________
ian parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2007, 17:01   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
we have siliconed them in all sortsa boats for years- fast fishing boats ribs etc. If you want to try it out beforehand just throw some water in the well, put the transducer where you fancy putting it and keep it in place with sommat or other. Bag of sand for instance. As long as you have the water in there it will sound thru the hull fine. One of our boats had the transducer thrown in the well all the time we had it, just needed to put a bit of water in there after launching. As we used it for beach launching the water was often in there, and everywhere else, automatically espec' near high water with a bit of a wind behind it.
We currently have a humber destroyer and an ocean pro with transducers siliconed in the well-both work fine even at speed.
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 08:29   #15
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Is there a drop off in resolution when mountied through the hull? I supose this could also be tested if one ahd the patience and will!

Surely there's a degree student out there that needs a project?
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 12:33   #16
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
My in hull transducer works better at speed than the transom mount one did.

I can only assume its because the water is 'cleaner' passing over the planning pad than it is 3 or 4 inches behind the transom.

Nasher.
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2007, 03:26   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Easdale
Make: Humber/Quinquari
Length: 10m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 297
Transducer mounting and A frame

Bruce
We internally mounted three transducers into the new SAMS RIB at Dunstaffnage. Signals breaks away at around 30 knots but at this speed its too late anyway. If you give us a ring or call in we can help you sort this and the A frame.

Tony
__________________
Tony Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2007, 05:35   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Tony,
I got your message but thought it better to wait till after the holidays as there is no rush for everything, hull hasn't even started building yet and isn't due till march. All the electronics should have arrived by then so I will know exactly what has to be mounted on it.
Will be in contact after the new year.
Is that the new RIB they got about 4-5 years ago or another newer one?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2007, 06:52   #19
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: South East
Make: Valiant DR520
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 53
In the rear well of the Valiant I siliconed the transducer over the keel. There must be voids or timber or something in there as I could not get any signal till I kept the transducer to the side where its perfect. I suppose what I'm saying is dont use anything as permanent as silkaflex till you test your unit.
__________________
keelhauled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2007, 11:57   #20
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Since the boat hasn't been built yet send the tranducer to Humber and ask them to glass it into the hull before the deck goes on and feed the wire up somewhere sensible. There is little to go wrong with them and it would be well protected.

Pete
__________________

__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.