Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 January 2014, 17:31   #31
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
I bought a dsc midland vhf and conected it to my garmin 441s which was straight foward one wire on each conects together the other wire on each went to neutral..when i had to use the red button on mine it would no transmit i don't know if it was because i had put my mmsi in the contacts rather than the units id,or a fault with the areial.ended up shouting mayday down my sh.hx280 which has always been ace
__________________

__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 03:32   #32
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Good possibility that it wont red button without the MMSI for the set being set up. Doubt an aerial fault would result in DSC failing if voice was working? But then you transmitted your voice by HH so hard to know. Presuming the boat survived what have you done to fix and test it?

Presumably you weren't wiring it up 5 minutes before you had to hit the button! So a test call would have revealed the MMSI wasn't set properly. (a test call does NOT mean hitting the big red for fun). You should see the position on screen so know it has that, but should be able to get another boat to position request you if in doubt.

While I think the number of radio checks in the solent is crazy, if I've installed a new set I'd certainly be using the self test function on the radio to check I could transmit and would then place a voice call (initiated by DSC) to someone a distance away such as the CG as a proper test. Then find someone to make a position request as my final config test.
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 03:44   #33
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: the boat
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 70 Outboard
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon23 View Post
I bought a dsc midland vhf and conected it to my garmin 441s which was straight foward one wire on each conects together the other wire on each went to neutral..when i had to use the red button on mine it would no transmit i don't know if it was because i had put my mmsi in the contacts rather than the units id,or a fault with the areial.ended up shouting mayday down my sh.hx280 which has always been ace
No DSC radio will transmit a distress alert if the MMSI has not been properly loaded into it - putting it in the contacts list is NOT the right place!
There is usually an "MMSI check" function somewhere in the set up menu which allows you to check that you have loaded the correct number. No number = no working red button.
__________________
Bluerib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 03:50   #34
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
Yes the boat did survive .i have removed the whole set up as i have sold the boat .i have a new radio for the new boat and was given a 2.4 Mtr fibreglass aerial which i was going to fit which hopefully Will give me a good range as it's mounted on top of a 6' tall light /aerial pole.will do the checks you recommend when i get it set up.

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Rib.net
__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 03:51   #35
gtb
Member
 
gtb's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Make: Ballistic 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 175hp ETEC
MMSI: 235 908 002
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
Then find someone to make a position request as my final config test.
I tried that on Saturday, but didn't get a reply from Chris.

My DSC request is logged on ship-tracking.co.uk :
235910073-G (safety) from 235908002-G Position request REQ [14-01-11 10:54:30]

so I'm going to blame his end of the deal I'll have to try a different station next time.

I'm using a self-contained handheld, so it's not really a config check test, but I'm curious to see how it appears on the radio in case I do need it.
__________________
gtb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 03:56   #36
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluerib View Post

No DSC radio will transmit a distress alert if the MMSI has not been properly loaded into it - putting it in the contacts list is NOT the right place!
There is usually an "MMSI check" function somewhere in the set up menu which allows you to check that you have loaded the correct number. No number = no working red button.
Yes i didn't know their was a mmsi check facility .as usual now I've done it wrong i Will go back and read the instructions . Thanks

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Rib.net
__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 04:13   #37
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
So I'd guess Chris doesn't have position polling enabled on his set. Or has it set to only if he says so and he decided not to reply!

It'd have alarmed on his set to reply though...

(I'm assuming he was near enough that his set would definitely have received and you would definitely have got his reply.)

Although if it was Chris's M91 you were calling the default is auto reply. Did you check it (his) was switched on and all that stuff... i.e. did he have a position?

Assuming his reply wasn't on ship-tracking.

If he got no message on his set then I'd ask him to look in his received and sent log and see if there are messages there. If there are then he sent a reply (and if didn't know he had he is set to auto) but neither you or ship tracking received it...
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 04:15   #38
Member
 
chris.moody's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Daventry & Beaulieu
Boat name: Tigga2
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
MMSI: 235900806
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 984
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtb View Post

I tried that on Saturday, but didn't get a reply from Chris.

My DSC request is logged on ship-tracking.co.uk :
235910073-G (safety) from 235908002-G Position request REQ [14-01-11 10:54:30]

so I'm going to blame his end of the deal I'll have to try a different station next time.

I'm using a self-contained handheld, so it's not really a config check test, but I'm curious to see how it appears on the radio in case I do need it.
Now I'm getting worried, perhaps my handheld is not working correctly I checked on Saturday and my Icom is set to auto respond to position requests.

Chris
__________________
--
Chris Moody
Rib Tigga2 a Ribcraft 4.8 with a Honda BF50
chris.moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 04:39   #39
gtb
Member
 
gtb's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Make: Ballistic 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 175hp ETEC
MMSI: 235 908 002
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 240
I sent the request as we were leaving the Hamble river, and I think you were preoccupied with recovering Tigga at Calshot. I would expect to be well within range, but maybe you were in the car/whatever. We can try again another time.
__________________
gtb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 05:09   #40
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 9.8hp
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris.moody View Post
Now I'm getting worried, perhaps my handheld is not working correctly I checked on Saturday and my Icom is set to auto respond to position requests.

Chris
From the icom M91 manual

D Receiving a Position Request Call When a Position Request Call is received:
➥ The alarm sounds for 2 minutes.
➥ “RCVD POS REQUEST” pops up. The LCD backlight
blinks for 2 minutes.
q Push [ALARM OFF] to stop the alarm and the blinking backlight.


When “POSITION ACK” is set to “Auto TX,” the transceiver automatically replies to the Call. In that case, both the TX and RX calls are stored in the Transmitted and Received Call Logs.

Having just bought this radio too I'm interested in what you find. There doesn't seem to be an option to transmit a position request call
__________________

__________________
gennaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.