Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 February 2015, 15:07   #11
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post

There are a couple of things though. First off is build quality. I've had my mitts on both and there is a noticeable tactile difference - the Icom just feels sturdier. It also has a higher IP rating than either the Lowrance or the Standard Horizon. The "playback" feature also appeals to me - I often miss a call and would love to hear it again. So a few extra benefits for the few extra quid.

I fitted my Lowrance a couple of months back so have yet to test it at sea and I've not seen the Icom in the flesh so I can't argue.

Hopefully the course of the season will prove it one way or the other!


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2015, 15:47   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel View Post
There is also a lesser known 506 without ais but with nmea 2000 at under 300 plus vat

Interesting!!! I had a long discussion with the Icom bods at the boat show. I want to fit a 506 to my boat, along with a digital yacht ait2000 class b transponder, they (icom) were worried that the 506 might see the transponder & assume we were on a collision course with ourselves, a sort of AIS feed back loop. They went away to run some tests, they never mentioned a 506 without the ais receiver


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2015, 16:02   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,250
I seem to recall that if the MMSI is set correctly in both as the same it will ignore... ...part of the spec. Bear in mind big boys may well have redundant kit
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2015, 16:16   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
I seem to recall that if the MMSI is set correctly in both as the same it will ignore... ...part of the spec. Bear in mind big boys may well have redundant kit

Sounds reasonable


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2015, 14:32   #15
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Interesting!!! I had a long discussion with the Icom bods at the boat show. I want to fit a 506 to my boat, along with a digital yacht ait2000 class b transponder, they (icom) were worried that the 506 might see the transponder & assume we were on a collision course with ourselves, a sort of AIS feed back loop. They went away to run some tests, they never mentioned a 506 without the ais receiver


.....sh1t happens.......

'Twas a problem with some early Garmin AIS units setting their own plotter collision alarms off. Resolved with a software update tho.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2015, 12:28   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
The 506 price reductions have filtered down to the smaller dealers like me now.

The basic isn't infact that much cheaper but if you've already got ais or have a transponder is a small saving.

Personally - on my own rib - am fitting the model with ais and keeping the transponder as a separate stand alone system.

506 basic (nmea 2000; no AIS) 325 delivered

506 std (nmea 2000 and AIS) 350 delivered

These prices incl. VAT for any commercial customers
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 June 2015, 15:45   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hayling Island
Boat name: Sea Drive II
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
Just got my M506 and am a bit puzzled how to flush-mount it.

When you slot it into the specified 157 x 93.4mm hole, it sits proud of the console leaving about a 4mm gap between the console and the radio's rubber surround. Am I doing something stupid? (Probably)
__________________
Captain Crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 June 2015, 16:17   #18
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Crash View Post
Just got my M506 and am a bit puzzled how to flush-mount it.

When you slot it into the specified 157 x 93.4mm hole, it sits proud of the console leaving about a 4mm gap between the console and the radio's rubber surround. Am I doing something stupid? (Probably)
I seem to recall that there is a flange on the rubber surround, so the sealing surfaces are indeed, out of sight behind the fascia. I put a good bead of sika down and neatly cleaned off the excess. Odd design I thought, but maybe the thinking is that it doesn't even need sealing?? I'm a belt and braces kinda guy....
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 June 2015, 16:51   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hayling Island
Boat name: Sea Drive II
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
Thanks, you recall correctly.

Guess I'm used to the Raymarine set-up which doesn't need any sika. That makes it very quick to get the radio out when it needs to go back for repair, which is frequent with Raymarine!
__________________
Captain Crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 June 2015, 17:02   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
If you use the "proper" flush mounting kit, instead of the free bits of plastic supplied, the radio is pulled down onto the rubber gasket. Saying that, I used the proper kit & still ran a very thin bead of Sika around the hole.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.