Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 July 2005, 19:30   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: York/Kingsbridge
Boat name: No Nonsense
Make: Prosport
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 72
ICOM M421 - shutting down

Jon Brooks, you're a popular fella! Here's another question for you. I've just installed my new Icom 421 and when the PTT button is pressed the radio shuts down, release it and it comes back on! Any ideas? Also, I have linked it to my Garmin chartplotter. Is it important that I make certain settings on the either the VHF or the plotter for them to speak to each other? Thanks.. any advice most welcome.
__________________

__________________
wetterthebetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2005, 04:17   #2
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Are you sure you've got the Antenna plugged in correctly, if you haven't the VHF can get damaged and shut down to protect its self.
__________________

__________________
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2005, 05:22   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Hayle, Kernow
Boat name: Spare RIB
Make: Narwhal
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Yam Outboard
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Does it shut down on low power too?

I ask as it might be high resistance on the battery terminals, so it cant draw enough current on TX.

Shaggy
__________________
Shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2005, 06:17   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: York/Kingsbridge
Boat name: No Nonsense
Make: Prosport
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 72
No..

only on high! Shall I just operate on low? And what's the reason and how can I stop it shutting down on high? Thanks v. much.
__________________
wetterthebetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2005, 02:19   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
If it only shuts down on high power then you have a power feed problem.
It would seem the radio can not draw enough current.

I would suggest checking all the power connections.
Make sure there is no corrosion on the battery terminals ect.

Any more problems let me know.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2005, 02:21   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Also the Garmin will be set from new to output "Garmin Data" and not "NMEA"

Press menu twice, scroll down to "comm" then set it to "NMEA in/out"

If you don't set this right the GPS will not talk to any device needing NMEA.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2005, 18:55   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: York/Kingsbridge
Boat name: No Nonsense
Make: Prosport
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 72
Thanks for the replies. Am checking power supply; all initially looks OK. Have altered the setting on Garmin but still saying no position on VHF.
__________________
wetterthebetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2005, 03:35   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
If you have the Garmin set right and no position it would suggest that the two are not wired together correctly.

From the red phono on the M421, inner to NMEA OUT +, outer to NMEA OUT - or to the Ground (black wire) of the Garmin.

If the power connections are all ok and the unit shuts down on high power TX this would suggest the battery is not up to the drain.
The only reason the radio would shut down in the way you say is because of lack of current to drive the radio.

Regards
__________________

__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.