Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 February 2004, 13:00   #1
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,115
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
Icom 601 and Garmin 188C

Has any got any experience of wiring these two together?

Its driving me mad. I`m into boats not into soldering and computer programing.

Any help would be gratefully recieved, particularly as the two manuals dont call wires and parts the same things.

Am I right in assuming the VHF only needs NEMA inputs and no outputs?

Thanks

Chris
__________________

__________________
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2004, 15:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Larson
Length: 7m +
Engine: Volvo D4 260hp DP
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 275
This was my answer to a problem I had connecting a Garmin 176C and a Nasa DSC radio, it may help you :-

I have spoken to Garmin and Nasa and have the answer. The problem I had was that when my broken radio was taken out I was left with a brown and a white lead from the Garmin, the radio had a brown, black and a red lead coming out, I thought I just needed to connect brown to brown and the red to the white, as the black was going to the negative power elswhere, but NO as that did not work.

Answer
I must ignore the white from the GPS as that is NMEA in and not required.
The Brown NMEA out from the GPS should connect to the Brown NMEA lead from the radio
The Red lead from the radio must go to a negative supply, this supply could come from the black lead that is powering the radio.

NOTE
You should NOT connect the red lead and black lead from the GPS straight to a negative source as it will cause a problem. These two leads should be connected together and then a lead comming from both goes to the Negative power source.

Clear as mud maybe, but I will give it a go on Saturday and see what happens.

By the way it worked

I accept no responsibilty for anything going wrong, you should seek independant advice before following these instructions
__________________

__________________
peteb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2004, 15:11   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
I don't think Pete's info is that useful to you. Infact Pete i think you are wrong about the NMEA out colour.

Assuming the two are working OK independently it is easy:

Garmin NMEA out is blue, connect this to the Icom NMEA in. If the icom has two connections for NMEA in (-ve and +ve) connect it to the NMEA in +ve and connect the NMEA in -ve to ground, which will be the black wires from GPS and VHF.

Now make sure your Garmin is transmitting data in NMEA format and NOT the default "garmin data transfer" you'll find that setting somewhere in the menu's, under "comms" i think.

Note, if you use MapSource to upload routes to the GPS you'll need to switch the "comms" mode back to "garmin data transfer" for it to work.

If you need more info please shout!
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2004, 15:13   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
I've just noticed you have the same Icom as me. You do have to connect two wires on the radio, NMEA in -ve to ground (VHF power black wire) and NMEA in +ve to the garmin blue wire.

Soldering that connector is an arse, and i'm an electronics engineer!!!

EDIT

Pete, i've checked the manual for your GPS online and you are right, the NMEA out is brown. I've never seen a garmin with anything other than a blue, but brown it is.

Chris, i checked your manual aswell, stick with origional instructions, it's blue.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2004, 15:28   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Larson
Length: 7m +
Engine: Volvo D4 260hp DP
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 275
My info came directly from both manufacturers and worked, but perhaps his is different, I did say it 'may' help
__________________
peteb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2004, 18:00   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Garmin have been known to use different colour codes on different GPS units. Garmin's web site has manuals for all of their current units. These can be downloaded and the pinouts for the unit is included in the manual.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2004, 03:36   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Give me a call here and I will talk you through it.

01227 741 741

regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 05:03   #8
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,115
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
Many thanks for the help guys.

I get the impression that I`m not the only one who has reached screaming point about these things.

Is there not a user friendly way forward for all this kit to be interconnected by the manufacturers?

An ISO for example?

Jon, If I may I`ll take you up on your offer and call later today.

ONCE AGAIN THANKS TO ALL.


Chris.
__________________
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 05:29   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Am in all day please do call.

We tried to make it simple for the end user to wire up.
Now we find most boaties have never seen a RCA Phono plug!!!


Kind regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 06:23   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally posted by Jon Brooks

Now we find most boaties have never seen a RCA Phono plug!!!

Frightnening, isn't it?
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.