Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 January 2007, 13:18   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Icom 421 to Garmin 178

i know its been done time and time again, well ive done it!!
here goes. step by step to how to link them

The icom 421 comes with 4 leads, the plus and minus are obvious, the other two are phono jack connectors

the RED one goes to the GPS the Black goes to another speaker if you want it,

the red male phono connector/cable (not the one joined to the radio) looks like a single cable, it is not, gently strip it back and you will find a very small red cable in side,
this goes to the thin blue wire on the GPS,feed (Data out in the Gps book)
the stripped back outer wire is the screen wire,
twist it together and tin it with soldering iron, THIS IS THE EARTH, link it to the GPS earth,using solder again,

Press and hold down MENU
go to com 1 on the GPS
and make sure it says NMEA out,

Hopefully that should be working!!

Thats all folks!!
__________________

__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2007, 13:30   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Matt,

I have the same setup. Not wired by me though.
I have been reading up on the things you can do with the 421 and DSC. But the Garmin manual skimps over its DSC capabilities. Do you know if you can Position request with the 421 and have the result automatically shown on the 178 ?
__________________

__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2007, 14:52   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
i would imagine so as it would sort of defeat the object of having it, but i guess i really not to sure,, um !!
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2007, 15:17   #4
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Biggles, I may be mistaken but I believe the 421 only has NMEA in and not an OUT connection therefore the requested position cannot be sent out.

Regards

Brian
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2007, 17:10   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
Biggles, I may be mistaken but I believe the 421 only has NMEA in and not an OUT connection therefore the requested position cannot be sent out.

Regards

Brian
Agreed - Icom 421 has only got NMEA in. I was interetsed in doing exactly that (displaying DSC messages on the plotter). I can't recall if any of the lower end icom sets had serial in/out (I was originally looking at std horizon with NMEA in/out). In the end, the plotter didn't support the NMEA position out messages from the radio (different format) so I ended up with M421 which is an excellent radio by the way :-)
__________________
al40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2007, 13:08   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Biggles et all,

You are correct the M421 has pnly NMEA in and not out.
The M505 has in and out as does the M601/603.

As a point of interest all the Standard Horizon range of fixed radio's in the UK have both NMEA in and out.

Our plotters and indeed Garmin have DSC software built in to allow the showing of position requests and DSC Distress calls.

I am not aware that others allow this as yet.

Best regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 February 2007, 14:02   #7
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
looks like a single cable, it is not, gently strip it back and you will find a very small red cable in side
Oh bollicks oh well another excuse to dismantle the dash. Matt thanks for the tip I was wondering what was wrong,

Pete
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2007, 03:26   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
twist it together and tin it with soldering iron, THIS IS THE EARTH, link it to the GPS earth,using solder again,
Thats all folks!!
Matt when you say link it to the GPS earth do you mean just run it to you Earth busbar as this is where the black wire from the GPS goes to anyway?

Chris
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2007, 03:37   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
yes thats right, the two must join and then to a secure earth,
__________________

__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.