Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 October 2008, 13:40   #1
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Icom 421 stuck on ch16

My Icom 421 is stuck on channel 16. It's transmitting/recieving etc but the only thing any of the buttons apart from TX do is the channel up button changes it from international to USA settings.

Any ideas?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 October 2008, 14:01   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
My Icom 421 is stuck on channel 16. It's transmitting/recieving etc but the only thing any of the buttons apart from TX do is the channel up button changes it from international to USA settings.

Any ideas?
Sounds like some damp has got in there. I would think it would not be too bad to srtip it an dry it out.

I know you keep your boat outdoors Nos so I imagine that is probably condensation rather than sea water ingress.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 October 2008, 14:13   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Sounds like some damp has got in there. I would think it would not be too bad to srtip it an dry it out.

I know you keep your boat outdoors Nos so I imagine that is probably condensation rather than sea water ingress.
Might be worth a go. I'm not sure if it's under warranty though.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 October 2008, 15:45   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Get matey with the coastguard.
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 06:07   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Sounds like its in programming mode to change settings from usa to international. Either that or it's kaput.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 09:08   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cookoo land
Boat name: tba
Make: ribcraft 595
Length: under 3m
Engine: Suzi 140
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 316
Lock!

Sounds to me like you've got the channel lock on which prevents accidental channel change.

Find the button with a key symbol or 'lock' written on it. Press and hold it until you hear a bleep!!!
__________________
BassBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 09:11   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cookoo land
Boat name: tba
Make: ribcraft 595
Length: under 3m
Engine: Suzi 140
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 316
forgot to say....the button might be on top of the fist mic.

(press and hold again to re lock)
__________________
BassBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 10:21   #8
Member
 
Andy JC's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Honwave T35AE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 18hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 374
From the online manual for the 421:


Microphone lock function

The microphone lock function electrically locks [Y]/[Z] and
[HI/LO] keys on the supplied microphone. This prevents accidental
channel changes and function access.

➥ While pushing [HI/LO] on the microphone, turn power ON
to toggle the lock function ON and OFF.



Any help??
__________________
Andy JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 10:49   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Nope!

Tried all that and nothing. The 421 only has a mic lock function, not for the rest of it.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2008, 12:41   #10
Member
 
Andy JC's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Honwave T35AE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 18hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Nope!

Tried all that and nothing. The 421 only has a mic lock function, not for the rest of it.

sounds like it's pooped then

(...unless there's some kind of factory reset option??)
__________________

__________________
Andy JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.